FSB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2009, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default FSB

my motherboard info says i can only have a 533fbs but im wanting a better cpu than i can get with a533 can i was an 800fsb cpu in it or will it hurt my comp?
__________________

The Mullet is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: FSB

It depends on your mobo. Can you tell us the make and model#.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: FSB

MS-6577 VER 4.1 NEON series
The Mullet is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: FSB

That's not a regular MSI mobo, it's a model made for HP or Compaq, so it may not support as many cpu's. But it looks like it should work for any skt 475 P4 "Northwood" cpu. One of those may be hard to find.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: FSB

skt 475?

Save your cash for a new mb, ram and cpu.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: FSB

^agreed. IT would be very hard to even find a socket 478, let alone one for any kind of realistic price.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: FSB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
skt 475?
My bad, It should be skt 478
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: FSB

^lol ,you got me saying 475 too...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: FSB

775-300=475
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 12:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: FSB

i plan on building a new comp with in a year im just trying to max this one out b4 i give it to family. And by the way ebay is a great place to find old comp parts. 3.0ghz cpu 10 bucks.
__________________

The Mullet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fsb question robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-03-2008 07:00 PM
Always wondered VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-20-2008 12:45 AM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 06:35 PM
Mainboard FSB, help. HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 14 09-16-2007 04:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.