Front USB ports not working :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default Front USB ports not working :(

I have no signal from the front USB ports on my case. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I plugged them into the motherboard like it said to in the mobo manual. One of the two USB cables in the computer is a solid plug and the other is split into individual pins, which kind of confused me, but I put them both in what I thought was the right way. Nevertheless, no signal when plugging devices in. So I ask, what did I do wrong? The rear USBs that are hardwired into the mobo work fine. Are there jumpers I need to configure to get these to work? I know the USB's have their own jumpers but I thought they were all set to work not just the rear ones. Thanks

Mobo: ASUS P4S800D-X Socket 478 SiS 655FX
Case: LIAN LI PC-7B plus II

Links
Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131527
Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811112099
__________________

s37d is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

coulda plugged them in upside down or backwards?

either way i would suggest double checking them.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 11:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

Ok I'll recheck it, but I remember there being one corner of the plug with no pin so you can only put it in one way.
s37d is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Ah, okay. Well i thought you were talking about the ones that come separate. It would be really tough to screw up if the connection is keyed so i doubt that's your problem. Check the other end where the cable attaches to the case, it's possible the connections came lose.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.