Friend of mine wants to upgrade his graphics card on his gateway... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2006, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Friend of mine wants to upgrade his graphics card on his gateway...

Long story short. Buddy of mine came to me with a 2 year old gateway saying his computer is lagging during certain games (not online games). He upgraded his RAM to 1 gb (maximum supported) a few months ago, so he assumed it was the graphics card, also because the graphics card is 32mb and 32mb is the MINIMUM required by the game specs (64mb recommended).

I'm worried about what to suggest for him, mostly because of it being a gateway and those ****ing proprietary ******** they pull over. Somebody told me as long as the graphics card doesn't require a power source hookup (because those are proprietary) that it should be okay.

Here is the graphics card I was looking at. 256mb AGP GeForce 6200.

Here is a picture of the inside of their tower.

So not only am I worried about proprietary connectors and whatnot, but I'm also worried about the power supply. Will it hold up, going from a 32mb graphics card to a 256? Will it be okay? Will it ****ing die by saturday?

There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154

It looks like he has an AGP slot and if his card is a 32MB ram its Power Supply is probably sh*t so he should either stick with the card he already has or get a new Power Supply and get the new card. But to be honest i would get a new comp.

fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce

Would a 256 meg card make it suffer that much? How about a 128?
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

he has an AGP slot? then you should get him a 6800GS.

power supply wise, anything that gives more than or 25A on 12 rail and about 400W should be fine.
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 04:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

But then you have to worry about the PSU fitting in the case. Even with a 6200, a 350w PSU would work... Antec or Coolmax makes a micro ATX psu that would fit into any pre-built system and if I remember correctly it has 20/22 on the 12V side, so that would work... But it also depends on the price range you have to work with. You can even find a 6800 for about the same price range as a 6200 sometimes in the newegg clearance/referb section. why pay for a new card, if you can get one for cheaper.
Just my 2.5 cents

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 05:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce

What I'm wondering is if the stock PSU will handle it... I know he's not going to want to go all out with a new power supply and everything. He just got a gig of ram, new monitor, and wants a new graphics card now. If he can just get this one game to stop freezing so he can happily play it (which is the graphics card's fault) then he'll be fine for years...
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 06:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559

Okay, if going for the 6200, then try to find a 128MB one, cause there is no way the GF6200 will ever use that much memory. It wont be able to play games that require that much memory anyway. So save the money, and just get a cheaper 128MB GF6200. Just my opinion though, use it, don't use it.
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 08:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

His current PSU probably isn't more than 300W and it'll be tough to upgrade it as Gateway's psu's are generally proprietary and oddly shaped. To use a generic power supply he'd probably have to cut up his case. My own PSU is roughly 300 watts and I can run an overclocked BFG Geforce 5600 FX 256mb with no problems, I don't see why your friend wouldn't be able to run a 6200 (I agree, get the 128mb if it's cheaper).
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

if a 19 amp psu can run a 6800 gs (my compaq), then i'm sure the psu in it will run a 6200 no problem

Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.