Fraps hardware question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2014, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Fraps hardware question

Not sure where I should put this one, Half software and half hardware question so mods feel free to put it in a better location.

Well anyhow I want to start doing some game recording with fraps but when recording and the settings on high in game it gets real laggy, What I wondered is could I add in another VGA (not in SLI but in the extra PCIE slot) to run the fraps, I remember when folding here was going strong people were putting in a extra GPU different than there main card to fold with, Could that be done with Fraps??? I have an extra 470 sitting on the shelf that would be great to have a use for so my 770 could keep the game smooth on highest settings. DayZ is the game I've been playing with this on so far.

Thanks
Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

That won't work. FRAPS is an old platform that probably won't get rewritten and updated to current standards. Use either Shadowplay or Dxtory. Shadowplay has 0% reduction in performance for me.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Holy crap, I forgot all about shadow play lolOK I hope I got my dumb@ss moment for the day done and over with. I'll give it a try in the next few days, DayZ does the weekly update in the wee hours Wednesday mornings soon after I get home from work so no servers to join.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 08:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Yea FRAPS is good for lossless and a platform you already know, but Dxtory does it too and from what I've been told records your set frames without capping the overall picture, all while not being a hog on your system.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Well if I get home before the servers shut down I'll try shadow play with maxed settings, Then off to find a way to shrink it enough for YouTube without killing the quality too bad
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Handbrake default settings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 07:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
Well if I get home before the servers shut down I'll try shadow play with maxed settings, Then off to find a way to shrink it enough for YouTube without killing the quality too bad

If you want to, email me later on and I'll forward you a program I use.
Also the current version of fraps is perfectly stable.
When I record I keep all windows closed and keep the antivirus disabled.
Also fraps depends on good stable codecs so that can be a key factor if things are slow or just full of garbage.

Use 60 fps to record, use a decent screen size to record on.
I use 1280x960 and I keep my in game graphics on medium.
Since you have a better gfx card then I do, adjust your screen resolution to something smaller when you record.
Smaller recording window, flawless quality, hell if you want a 1080p screen size..
Hand brake like pp recommended will do or aisseesoft blu ray ripper 3.3.0.6 will do.

That version of aissesoft will do anything you need it to its much more quicker than hand brake.
The newer versions are hit and miss, but pm or email directly and I'll give you something to use with fraps.

Heres an example of fraps recording and aissesoft conversion.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Actually FRAPS has a lot of issues with newer DX11 games because it was written for DX9 and only patched for modern support. Thing is, the current version is several years old and that's why it lags behind in newer programs like Dxtory or hardware transcoders like Shadowplay. IMO FRAPS can't compare to the 0 reduction in performance that Shadowplay gives. The file sizes aren't bad for max quality either.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Too bad Shadowplay says it doesn't work on my laptop .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 12:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Fraps hardware question

Did a little testing with shadow play, 20 minutes takes slightly over 5 gigs with the record settings on high, It said 20 minutes should take 7.5 gigs but not so much. 19 min 43 sec took 5.07 gigs and the quality was superb, Still need to tweek the game settings a little to my liking but no lagging at all when recording. Only thing is the video look quit a bit darker than when I was playing. Right now the group I've been playing with all seems to have found ways to die on there own LOL I was showing someone that you can actually blow up gas stations and then I suddenly see the words... You are dead.... DOH stood a little closer than I thought LOL So we are all heading to one location and re arming for another game hopefully this weekend with a big crew. If it happens I'll be recording it along with one of the other guys so if one of us dies we will have the others vid to use.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a question about FRAPS... Phate PC Gaming 10 02-21-2007 11:59 AM
fraps sound drago Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 06-06-2005 07:50 PM
Anything besides Fraps Juice476 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-28-2005 11:57 AM
Video card and fraps. Monitor question also. millerhighlife_ Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 01-28-2005 09:49 PM
Fraps Demalii Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-15-2004 02:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.