Format or Update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Format or Update

I currently have Windows XP Pro on a system with an AMD Athlon 64 and 1GB of RAM and I would like to upgrade to Vista, but I feel like my hard drive is chalk full of tiny fragments and remnants of various programs and files that I have installed and removed over the years and although I think I'm pretty good about virus/worm/spyware/adware protection, there's a chance there's stuff I don't know about. So, my question is...will buying the upgrade version completely remove any old junk on my HD, including infections, or do I have to buy the full version and format my HD first? If that's the case, how do I format my HD?

**I don't have the installation software for Windows XP, it was pre-installed so I just have some sort of recovery disc.**

Thanks!!!
__________________

saintpat86 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Format or Update

why buy it ? when google can help u obtain vista lol
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Format or Update

Howdy,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
why buy it ? when google can help u obtain vista lol
lol.

It's always best to do a clean installation than an upgrade. You can actually perform a clean install of Windows Vista using an upgrade disc by following the instructions on any one of these webpages:

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...rade_clean.asp
http://vistarewired.com/2007/02/28/p...-upgrade-disc/
http://www.infopackets.com/channels/...revious_os.htm

It will cost less than a retail version, but does require you to follow specific steps which take some time.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Format or Update

Ok, so let me make sure I get this straight and ask few more questions.

1.) a "clean" install will format my HD in the process and all the junk will be wiped away

2.) My HD is partitioned into a "c:/" and a "d:/," which serves as a backup location.
--If I were to attempt this, wouldn't it just recover all the junk from the backup?
--Should I format the backup drive first?
--Can I un-partition my HD?

I'm really not a technotard, I just tend to have bad luck when I tinker so I want to make sure I have everything right before I touch anything.

Thanks!
saintpat86 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Format or Update

Using the XP Pro recovery discs that came with your computer, will just put the hard drive back to the state, when you first bought the computer. So it will mainly erase everything, and install back the default software. Then just use the Vista upgrade from there.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Format or Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by saintpat86 View Post
Ok, so let me make sure I get this straight and ask few more questions.

1.) a "clean" install will format my HD in the process and all the junk will be wiped away

2.) My HD is partitioned into a "c:/" and a "d:/," which serves as a backup location.
--If I were to attempt this, wouldn't it just recover all the junk from the backup?
--Should I format the backup drive first?
--Can I un-partition my HD?

I'm really not a technotard, I just tend to have bad luck when I tinker so I want to make sure I have everything right before I touch anything.

Thanks!
When installing Windows XP / Vista, you choose one partition to install the OS on to. If you have more than one partition, the other partitions will be unaffected during the clean install, meaning that once the OS is installed and you're logged into the desktop, you'll be able to gain access to the files on those other partitions.

So, a clean install won't format the hard drive as such, but will format the Operating System partition. However, during the setup process, you can choose which partitions to resize or delete.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Format or Update

So should I format the backup partition before I start so that it doesn't get any unwanted garbage from there later or will it not do that?
saintpat86 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Format or Update

It won't carry over the junk, but it is a good idea to format, if you don't have any important files on it.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Releases Zune Update Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-29-2007 04:50 PM
Nortons Ghost 10 Live Update problems wallace Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-26-2007 03:46 AM
Flawed Symantec Update Cripples PCs Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 05-24-2007 06:54 PM
Automatic Update Problem Bondy Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-01-2007 09:58 AM
cant format hdd and incorrect parameters Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-28-2007 04:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.