floppy or USB thumbdrive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default floppy or USB thumbdrive?

Just out of curiosity, are all of you who are building new machines or have built one recently, putting a floppy drive in them???

I haven't used a floppy in a few years since USB thumbdrives came out and have not put one in any machine I have built for myself or others over the past few years.
__________________

__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default

I'm planning on building a computer within a month or two, and I'm not planning on putting a floppy drive in it.

The one I have now hasn't been used in over a year. I think it broke on me at some point between then and now.
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I only have a floppy drive because my friend gave me a nice DELL USB one for free. It retails on their website for like $60.

But a USB drive is good, they're really cheap now, and almost every working computer has USB ports.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

I use both. Floppy drives are cheap, and you never know when you'll need one. When I was in college the computers in the labs didn't have USB so I needed to transport electronic copies of my papers on good old floppy. Plus some BIOS updates are done via floppy.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I use usb thumb drives on a daily basis but I still keep a floppy in my new computers. I keep them for bios updates, sata/raid drivers, stuff like that. Plus you never know when some one will have a file only on a floppy or if you want to load a realy of game or something of a disk. They only like $6 anyhow, may as well have them I say.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

The last time I used a floppy was 3-years ago because I couldn't trust the school's network, and USB drives were really expensive.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I havent used a floppy in AGES, aside from at work. I never put them in my systems but i have some spare just incase i need one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

I agree with jorsoft. You can use them for drivers and bios updates easily and they're really cheap. How else are you going to use the external 3.5" drive space?
__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default

whats a floppy? (Being sarcastic of course)
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Methinks it's one of those round black things with the grooves that plays music.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.