floppy - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2005, 11:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185
Question floppy

is there any reason to buy floppy drive nowadays when building a computer?

chickenfoot is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475


Flashing BIOS

turtile is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

Not really, you can download the files for Raid and BIOS flashes to CD's now.

but you should always check first.
Better safe then sorry.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

just ebay it... we got a box of 40 floppys for like 10 bucks. they're dirt cheap.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

MSI can flash bios through windows
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 02:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506

When I built a couple months ago I didn't buy a floppy because, well I didn't want one. Then I learned that a floppy is needed to load RAID/SATA drivers during Windows installation, otherwise it wont recognize the hard drive and therefore not load. Luckily there is a compusa right down the road.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185

my computer that is coming this following tuesday isnt using serial ata, i'll be using ultra ata. also, i dont use raid and have 1 hard drive. are floppies going to affect me under these circumstances?
chickenfoot is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306

no unless you want to do a bios flash but you could do that on a cd.
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 05:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 185

ok, thanks guys

AMD Athlon-64 3000+
MSI K8N Neo4-F nForce4
1024 MB [512x2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
ATI Radeon X700 256MB
80GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM
chickenfoot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.