Flight Simulator Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2006, 03:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I'd worry more about the video card than the processor. The vid card you have selected very likely will not perform that well. I suggest a 6600GT at the very least.

As for the proc, do you really need dual core? You can pick up an Athlon 64 3200+ and overclock it if need be.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SpitFireV12RR
Default

Well...okay. I was just asking about the Dual Core.

Heres the AMD 3500 + That I can get for about $170 from BestBuy. I don't think the motherboard can support it though...can it?

AMD Athlon¬ô 64 Processor 3500+ with HyperTransport¬ô Technology

About the Graphics card...I really don't want to spend $500 on a card. PNY Verto GeForce 6600 256MB DDR PCI Express Graphics Card
__________________

SpitFireV12RR is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

unless Flight Sim is optimized to run with a dual core setup (which I doubt it is), I would suggest a single core....

Also, that video card isn't very great... my 2nd best PC has an ATI Radeon 9800 AIW 256 MB, and it is decent at best... For flight sim, I recommend ATI x800 (or NVIDIA equalivant) or better.

With that motherboard, you have to make sure you get an Intel Socket 775 CPU, and DDR2 memory.... (DDR and DDR2 is NOT cross-compatible)

EDIT: you CANNOT user an AMD CPU with that motherboard... ONLY INTEL CPU's will work with that.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SpitFireV12RR
Default

Well...I guess I should restate my aspects of the computer. This is going to be PRIMARALY used for FS. I'm also going to be using it to listen to music, watch videos, use the internet, and do some homework. That why I was pushing twoards a dual core Intel.

Dragon, I didn't think I could use an AMD.
SpitFireV12RR is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 03:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Since you're on a limited budget, and really the only thing that will be hardware intensive is Flight Sim, I wouldn't go Dual Core. In order to get the most out of dual core CPU's, the software has to be written to USE a dual core setup, otherwise the gains don't justify the price. Also, listening to music, surfing the web can be done on lower end chips..

7 Intel Socket 775 CPU's - $200-$300

7 set's of DDR2 667 1 Gig (2x 512 MB) RAM - $200-$300

All those listed will work with the motherboard you sent a link to.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 04:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to SpitFireV12RR
Default

So...can I stay Pentium III, or am I going Pentium IV? If I go Pentium IV, I can get it for about $150.
SpitFireV12RR is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 04:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Just save and buy a whole new system. Don't go for the pentium 3 or pentium 4. The pentium 4's netburst architecture was garbage. If you're buying now, pick up an athlon 64 and socket 939 motherboard.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 11:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
Cool to see a fellow 14-year old.

For a flight simulator you will probably be thinking of getting multiple monitors and a pretty good graphics card. At this moment, I would suggesting a 7900GT.

For CPU I don't know which you prefer, but I would suggest getting either the Opteron 170 or Athlon 3800 x2.

You will also want a nice joystick, flight yoke system, not sure which one you prefer but as a racing sim entusiast, I like to get good equipment for my sims.

A sound system is a must, I don't have any expirience in this because I plug my hoem stereo system into my integrated sound card, so I have no idea how the crappy pc speakers work...

After reading that, forget what I just said because socket AM2 is coming out. There is no point in building a computer right now! Windows Vista and DX10 and HDDVD/Bluray Video cards are also coming out. You will be wasting all your money if you didn't wait just a little bit more.

If money was not an object, this would be my case: http://www.svc.com/pc-v2000bw.html
LMAO what are you smoking.i HIGHLY DOUGHT THAT IS IN HIS BUDGET.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 11:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Here is a good budget Build.

CPu:3200+ Venice 2.0ghz
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
At a very low price(lower than I got $164)
MOBO:Biostar 939
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
Very good quality and low price
On-Board GFX'x should hold you over for a while until you save up
some money for GFX card.Very good GFX for price trust me Better than 9250.
HDD:WD 250gb S-ATA
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144417
Case:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068
Excelent case for Price.
PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171007
Great PSU for price also.
Fan:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835129242
Better options out there you can look
Ram:XMS cosair
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450
Hella good quality and speed

You can use your current optical Drive(disc drive) just get a rounded ide cable like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812104636

About $600 seems like awesome budget computer to me.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 11:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Flight Simulator Computer

Quote:
Originally posted by SpitFireV12RR
Hello,

My name is Todd(Spit). I'm 14 and I'm saving up money for a new computer. The one I have is nice...but it just ain't cuttin' it. I believe it has a Pentium III, a Western Digital 160 GB Hard drive, a Plex Writer CD/RW, a crappy case and mother board, and I don't even think it has a darn graphics card...probally integrated.

With all that aside, I would like to ask my question.

Well...what would make a good FS9(Hopefully FS10 end of '06) computer? I did a search and all that fun Jazz but I didn't really find anything applying to an FS9 computer.

I'm trying to rebuild pretty-much my whole system. Motherboard, case, graphics card, sound card, Memory, and maybe the processer.

I was in Best Buy today and was blown away by the selection...amazing. I was drawn to a few items I found on the web but am quite too lazy to draw links up. Let see...here they are: Dynex ATX Mid-Tower Case - Black ABIT ATX Motherboard 1066/800/533MHz

Hopefully that worked...

I'm set on the case and motherboard...They look nice and affordable. The only way I would change the motherboard is if I were to get a Processer/MB combo.

I'm in the dark on everything else...I mean I'm pretty tech-savy and all that junk but some of these specs just blow my mind. I would like advice on pretty much everything for a fairly good, AFFORDABLE(14 YO Budget), and good for Flight Simulator.

If anyone comes forth with knowledge(Which I'm hoping some will), your help is greatly appreciated and I'd like to thank you before I recieve your help(That sounded weird...LOL).

Thanks,
Todd(Spit)

P.S. I believe it would help for me to tell you that I am the General Manager of the best buy down here's best friend and I get the GM discount on everything, including Computer components so I would like to get most everything at bestbuy. About 40% offish.
Dude have you heard of Newegg.com Nevermind I read the rest of your post.But you could steal get a better deal even if you still get a discount.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.