flash hard-drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2006, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Question flash hard-drive

a mate of mine was saying that he thought it was possible to set up a bunch of 4GB flash cards to work as windows boot drive.

would this be possible, and if so would it be worthwile?

dissenting_dove is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

Dunno about the flash cards, but Gigabyte makes something like that.

It holds up to four DIMMs and has a battery back-up to hold the contents in case of power outage. I don't know for sure, but I think it is bootable.

Someone (Samsung, I think) recently announced a flash-based hard drive. Something like 8gig.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
ulater6000's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000

If you just google it, you can find information on them. They are called solid-state hard drives. Ive read that a few notebook companies want to start offering them (In small storage sizes) in their notebooks by next year or the year after. You can already buy like 10gb models that are bootable online right now for your desktop and laptop, but its pricy.

Solid State Hard Drives

-Extremely fast

-Very expensive
-Limited storoage space
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

If its compactflash, its not worth it. It is possible though.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5

Originally posted by turtile
If its compactflash, its not worth it.
why's that?
£183 for 4GB!?
forget i asked!

I was thinking MMC anyway.

I can see that it'll work out a bit on the expensive side, but it'd be nice to have a hard-drive that was faster than a raptor and made no noise at all.

mind you, GFX card fan makes an awful noise at the moment (i think it's something to do with the bearings in it or something) so until i buy a new one it'd be pointless anyway.
dissenting_dove is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.