Fixing a friend's computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2009, 06:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
I wanted to address this part of kmote's post....

Specifically:

1) You need to touch these two leads as he indicated by using something like a screwdriver (it works).

2) You also need to have the unit plugged in and turned on of course. It will start the computer up without a swich being pushed. All this does is bypass the switch on the case to start up your computer.

On ATX mobos (almost all the ones made in the last several years) the switch on the case sends a signal to the mobo which tells the CPU which tells the PSU to "turn me on, baby ! "

By doing the above, you are essentially bypassing that switch.

:laughing: LOL. Or leave it unplugged and I can send him some electricity in the mail .
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 06:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Lol !! Well I thought I would mention that, because he hasn't heard of how to do this before, so I thought I would be very specific. Face palm me if it is that obvious, wouldya ??

electricity via e-mail = e^2-mail lol
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 06:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
electricity via e-mail = e^2-mail
LOL!! Somebody HAS to sig this!!
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Alright so I plugged it in and attempted to turn it on manually but I couldn't get it to work. I accidentally got it to turn on for a second but I'm not sure how.

Can anyone tell me exactly what to do? What do I connect exactly? Where exactly is it?

They show most of the connectors in the manual but honestly at this point I'm just tired and confused. Can anyone be specific? I'll worry about it starting up with the front panel button later, right now I just want to know if it's working.

Manual can be found here:

MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 12:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

I'm a noob and trying to follow this incase I run across this in the future. Is it page2-16 in the manual....JFP1 number 6 and 8?
I must say I'm not a big fan of the screwdriver idea....touch the wrong pieces of metal by accident and who knows what could blow. Is that the same plug as your pc Dakaggo? it looks like my power button plug connector would fit the new MB. Isn't that standard (accept for dell )
septic is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 03:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by septic View Post
I'm a noob and trying to follow this incase I run across this in the future. Is it page2-16 in the manual....JFP1 number 6 and 8?
I think so but I tried connecting them and it didn't work... I hope I didn't break it the first time I turned it on manually...
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 04:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

Can anyone who knows exactly what they're doing help? For instance does anyone know of a way I can make the computer start up with the power button in the front? Does anyone have any idea EXACTLY what I need to do to turn it on manually? I could really use help.
Dakaggo is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 06:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

the pins that the connector was wrong for from the computer on button. the one your your talking about not being the right type of connector.. get the mobo manual .pdf from the manufacturers site and it should state what pins clearly.
alot of guys start em that way if the board does not have a button on it even A+ tells ya you can do it this way..most people I know start and check for post before they install the board in the case and thats how they turn em on.
mine has a reset and on button right on the bottom of tha board.
__________________
http://www.forum-signatures.com/wiza...3454627674.gif

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 06:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

at this point if splicing doesn't work for you as Atech66 mentioned.( In this application finding the right button will probably mean same wrong mb connection, so find right mb connection then spice to existing button)then a new button would have to be cut and installed in the case.
Have you fired this thing up yet? I assume you have installed in case with cpu ram etc... did all the other plugs work from psu? The reason I didn't like the screwdriver is bc I smoke and drink coffee and shake too much to play doctor.
septic is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
Idealist Gamer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 419
Default Re: Fixing a friend's computer

As I said I tried it to the best of my abilities and from what I can tell it booted up once for a couple of seconds, I took the screwdriver off and it stopped and then I couldn't get it to go again. I'm beginning to worry it's been fried but that seems unlikely... although not impossible.
__________________

Dakaggo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i am working on my friends computer and i have a problem............. nastsystems Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 10-03-2008 09:59 AM
i need options fixing my friend's computer problem Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-07-2008 09:39 AM
A problem with my friends computer Viscera Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-02-2008 09:35 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.