First timer, please review my budget build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

skyrend

Beta member
Hello, this is my first time putting together a computer and I'd like some input on my build. Been doing a lot of research to make sure all the components are compatible, but I'd feel much better with confirmation from people in the know. ;) My current computer is a Dell Dimension 8200 with GeForce3 Ti 200 graphics card, so probably anything will be a step up from that dinosaur.

The main purpose of this will be general PC use (surfing, adobe/paint shop pro, music, ipod, multi-tasking, etc) and light gaming. I do play the occasional MMO like RF Online, Silkroad, and some PC RPGs, but I'm a console girl at heart and not looking to get into any of the high end stuff. Aion and Blade & Soul are probably the heaviest games I've considered thus far...

Budget is $400-$600. Reusing old peripherals and planning to buy a new copy of Windows XP sometime down the road. The graphic card will probably not be purchased right away, so that's already -$129 off the total at present.

Graphic Card - EVGA 512-P3-N973-TR GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-G31M-ES2L LGA 775 Intel G31 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Had a lot of trouble with this part. I know it's cheap, but will it work well enough for my needs?

CPU - Intel Pentium E5200 Wolfdale 2.5GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80571E5200 - Retail

RAM - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ - Retail

Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

CD/DVD Burner - LG 22X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model GH22NS30 - OEM
I think this is only a burner, so also need a CD/DVD reader. Any good reader/burner combos I could get in place of this?