First Time Building my own, - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2008, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default First Time Building my own,

And I'm going to need a bit of help.

-I'm from the USA.
-It needs to be under $350
-The motherboard needs to use IDE to connect to the hard drive.
-I don't want vista.
-It's just a general computer, doesn't need to be super fast or anything
-Just need the tower, and I don't need a hard drive, I have a 500 gig.


So, apparently y'all can help, and it would be much appreciated, as I have no idea what I am doing.
__________________

Thorn is offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Motherboard
40.00
Newegg.com - Foxconn 945P7AA-8KS2 LGA 775 Intel 945P ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Processor
59.00
Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E1200 1.6GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail

Memory
42.00
Newegg.com - WINTEC AMPX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Case W/PSU
30.00
Newegg.com - Rosewill R103A Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply with 20+4 pin connector - Retail

Video card
103
Newegg.com - XFX PVT84JUDF3 GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Total build: $274

Whoops forgot the O/S, I usually just have one lying around. You can skimp more on the video card to gain the extra dough for an O/S. I would grab a OEM copy of XP Home.

The memory is not overkill by the way, eventually, even with office apps, you will need the two gigs.

Unless you wanted to buy a prebuilt, and that I can't (or won't) recommend any.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Maybe change the processor to E2140 or E2160 for $20 more?

The E1200 can be overclocked a bit though if you want above 1.6ghz
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Nah, 1.6 should do.
Thorn is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohGrFreak View Post
Whoops forgot the O/S, I usually just have one lying around. You can skimp more on the video card to gain the extra dough for an O/S. I would grab a OEM copy of XP Home.
Already have bought an OS, and downloaded Ubuntu.
Thorn is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Motherboard:

" good for a low end computer"

And it says not upgradable to dual core, which was the processer you selected. Do I need another one?

Processor:

someone said it was barley an upgrade from single core for twice the price, is it worth it?


Love the video card, great find.

Were all the things you posted compatible?

Also I need a cd/dvd player/burner, but the ones I looked at said E-IDE interface, is this compatible with the IDE on the mobo?

And could a couple other people review this before I order and start setting up? Will it all work, is it a good buy?
Thorn is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

The motherboard that ohGrFreak suggested does not support dual core

So, get this instead
Newegg.com - MSI P6NGM-L LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce7050 / nForce610i Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

This ^ motherboard has onboard video card

And get this ram
Newegg.com - WINTEC AMPO 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

That motherboard doesn't support IDE.


So, is there anyone who can actually help me? I need the complete list of what to get that is actually compatible, and I have NO idea what I am doing.
Thorn is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
That motherboard doesn't support IDE.


So, is there anyone who can actually help me? I need the complete list of what to get that is actually compatible, and I have NO idea what I am doing.
yes it does ATA is the same thing as IDE/EIDE

also don't triple post, use the edit feature and type any additions
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: First Time Building my own,

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
yes it does ATA is the same thing as IDE/EIDE

also don't triple post, use the edit feature and type any additions
Newegg.com - MSI P6NGM-L LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce7050 / nForce610i Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
"PATA 1 x ATA100 2 Dev. Max
SATA 3Gb/s 4
SATA RAID 0/1/JBOD"

SATA is the same as IDE? I was talking about the second mobo.

The first one won't support dual core, the second won't support my hard drive.

And sorry, I didn't realize until it after, and I couldn't delete.


So, can anyone help me?
__________________

Thorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spreading Firefox One Giant Sticker At A Time Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 10-24-2007 12:18 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
Also my first time building a PC AP4LIFETN New Systems | Building and Buying 63 05-30-2007 01:14 AM
Help Building a CAD Comp =] GopherBallz New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-19-2007 03:45 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.