First time building - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default First time building

I've read around a lot, and I still have a few questions. I designed the computer below, but I'm not sure how to tell if parts are compatible. How do I tell if a graphics card works with my motherboard? Sound card? I really don't know, but I did try my best to make a decent, cheap PC. I've listed links to the parts below, can anyone tell me if they will work together?

Case w/ Power Supply:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144064

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131468

Proccessor:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103377

Sound Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102177

Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102559

Ram Chip:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141401

I really appreciate any and all help!
__________________

aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

umm... whats with all the old stuff. socket A radeon 7500. 256MB of ram. ...? what is this comp for? most the stuff is compatible
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

All looks compatable, but why spend $75.00 on a case and only spend $26.00 on 256MB of valueram?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default

Well, that motherboard has 3 ram chip spots, so I'd get 3x 256.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default

I actually plan on using the computer as a mini unix server (learning unix). You said my stuff was old, what would you recommend? I chose Socket A because that's what my processor said it needed... but if I should go with something newer, let me know.

Also, I am on a budget.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well that isnt bad for unix, just make sure you can get the proper drivers for stuff.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default

Okay, I don't want to use Socket A. Which one should I go with? Also, I'm thinking of changing to an AMD 64 bit processor.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i was just asking? i need to know what your using the comp before i can say good or bad. but for that its pretty good
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.