First time builder - please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default First time builder - please help

I need a computer that will be used almost exclusively for forensic imaging of hard drives through Firewire connections using Windows tools.

I am considering building a high end machine as follows:

Case - Antec Super LANBoy Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
Motherboard - Abit AA8-DuraMAX Motherboard (supports 3 Firewire 800 ports)
Processor - Pentium 4 3.6 Ghz
Power Supply - Antec 480 watt 120mm fan ATX 12V v2.0 power supply Active PFC
Model NeoPower
RAM - 2 Kingston 1GB 533MHz DDR2 Non-ECC 4-4-4 DIMM and 2 Kingston 512 MB
533MHz DDR2 Non-ECC 4-4-4 DIMM
Hard Drive - one of the many I have lying around
DVD Burner - Sony 16X DVD+/-RW Double Layer Drive

Please don't bother bashing Microsoft in your reply - these are the tools I need.

Any comments? Am I overlooking anything? Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Michael
__________________

skylane is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

You are going to need a video card for this "high end machine".

That motherboard needs a PCI-Express video card.

It is my opinion that 3+ Gigs of RAM is overkill. 1 gig should be plenty unless you're running some kind of CAD program.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

He`s only using it for forensic imaging he wont need a great graphics card, and 3 gig of RAM might be overkill but it`ll certainly help with any imaging he does and speed up the process. It sounds good to me and choosing a pentium is also a wise move with its hyper threading that pc will be great for what you need it for.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 10:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

perhaps I misunderstood his purpose.

he/she states it is for "forensic imaging of hard drives". I was thinking that the user would be trying to examine a hard drive; not actual an actual imaging process.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

im also confused lol but it sounds like a processor and memory hungry activity im sure what they have chosen fits those needs.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the replies. The machine will be used for some analysis, but the same constraints apply - lots of I/O, heavy CPU and memory intensive work. I realize I'll need a video board - just planning on using some old board and an old 17" CRT I have lying around.

I saw a major speed increase when I went from 512 to 1 GB RAM on the imaging machine I'm using now. I realize there will probably be diminishing returns, but any speed increase will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.
skylane is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 01:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default

Case - Antec Super LANBoy Aluminum ATX Mid Tower
Motherboard - Abit AA8-DuraMAX Motherboard (supports 3 Firewire 800 ports)
Processor - Pentium 4 3.6 Ghz
Power Supply - Antec 480 watt 120mm fan ATX 12V v2.0 power supply Active PFC
Model NeoPower
RAM - 1gb corsair (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145480)

Hard Drive - one of the many I have lying around
DVD Burner - Sony 16X DVD+/-RW Double Layer Drive

This is what i came up with!!!
matthab is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Just go with 2 gigs of ram because your config with 3 gig may have problems running in dual channel.

Pick up a cheap PCI-E card like a 6200 to go with your PC too.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.