first time builder need help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2009, 03:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Default

just to be safe i'll buy the full version.thanks for everything the 2 of you. I think i'm ready to buy.

I was thinking there. that is 1tb not quite a lot and I could save money there and buy a better mobo or whatever speeds it up.
__________________

magicboy is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: first time builder need help

oh, i had only listed a 1tb hdd because you had listed one in your original list, so i assumed youd want that much space.

here are some other hdds of different sizes you could look at that cost less.
Western Digital WD3200AAKS 320GB SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue - Ebuyer

Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue - Ebuyer

Western Digital WD6400AAKS 640GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM Caviar Blue - Ebuyer

the current setup is already pretty good, so you could save the money, unless you still want to spend it.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:16 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: first time builder need help

I'll just take the 500gb and if I need more space I will buy an external hard drive. Do you think its a risk getting the upgrade version of windows 7 to clean install. I think I will get the upgrade mobo and ram as when I clicked the ram its now in stock. Is that going to be quite a fast computer then. If i post the link to the shopping cart does it let you see it or is it just this computer so you can check its ok.
magicboy is offline  
Old 12-29-2009, 09:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: first time builder need help

well, it was only like a few days ago that i saw that guide for a clean install with an upgrade disc, so idk how well your chances are of it working, but nothing in it looks really complicated though.

so i guess like i said before, if you wanna stay safe buy the full version.

if you link your shopping cart, it will appear empty on my screen. you need to post the individual links of your parts.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:40 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: first time builder need help

If it doesn't work could I install a vista disc from a laptop then upgrade and it would work but then would the laptop still work after.
magicboy is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 05:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: first time builder need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicboy View Post
I'll just take the 500gb and if I need more space I will buy an external hard drive. Do you think its a risk getting the upgrade version of windows 7 to clean install. I think I will get the upgrade mobo and ram as when I clicked the ram its now in stock. Is that going to be quite a fast computer then. If i post the link to the shopping cart does it let you see it or is it just this computer so you can check its ok.
If you get a OEM upgrade disk, this is not possible. The serial is tied to the mother board and can not be transferred. All this can be found in the OEM vs Retail thread.

Differences between OEM and Retail

Also note that getting a upgrade version of Win7 doesnt work unless you have a previous version of Windows that qualifies for the upgrade installed first.
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicboy View Post
If it doesn't work could I install a vista disc from a laptop then upgrade and it would work but then would the laptop still work after.
No you can not do this. That is a OEM serial and is tied to the laptop. You can not use it to install on another machine to use the upgrade copy and still have it work on the laptop.

You will have to buy a retail version or a OEM full version. Not a upgrade.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-30-2009, 06:04 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: first time builder need help

I order my computer earlier today anyway.I just took the full install version just in case anyway. This forums been great. Thanks. (this was magicboy didn't realise it was my brothers that was signed in)
__________________

kieran?. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME ENDS SUNDAY, NOV.1 FOR MOST PARTS OF THE WORLD Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-23-2009 12:55 PM
First Time Builder... cane5 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-18-2009 02:56 AM
Please help first time builder Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-17-2008 07:17 PM
First Time Builder Seeking Advice and Help Battlefront115 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 08-12-2007 04:29 PM
First time computer builder... zip000 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 03-31-2007 03:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.