First time builder need help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 07:24 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

now i no ur not serious.motherboard must be f***** or cpu will have to send back i suppose.
__________________

Rit2003uk is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 09:43 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

now i have the green power led on, if the motherboard was broke, wud this light up?
__________________

Rit2003uk is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 06:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to s37d
Default

I don't know if this applies, but I put my 2-pin HD led in the wrong way today and it didn't work, had to flip it the other way. Maybe you have one of the plugs in the wrong way...like the power switch..."POWER SW" on yours. I always have the fear that something like what's happening to you now will happen to me when I'm building a pc...just a pain to deal with since it could be a number of things.
s37d is offline  
Old 12-14-2006, 06:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Get out the manual that came with your mobo, and refer to the illustration as to what plug goes where.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 04:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

wud the green light come on if the power supply was faulty?
Rit2003uk is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 08:11 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

you will be pleased to no i have found, the cause of the problem, the power supply is naff. tryed it on this computer and it did not work, so hopefully get a new 1 and all will be well.any suggestions on new 1?
Rit2003uk is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 02:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Not saying your current PSU is bad, but newer vid cards require more power than your PSU puts out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 02:54 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

any recomendations to a new 1?would send the power supply back but that means, sending the case with it will just buy a new one.
Rit2003uk is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 03:49 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

It's best to buy cases that don't include PSUs because 99.9% of the time, the PSU they come with suck. Buy cases empty and then get a good name brand PSU. OCZs and Antecs are nice.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:32 AM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

shes up and running bought a crap 550w power supply, and thats what was wrong all the time.now have on screen reboot and select proper boot device.insert blah blah blah press a key,will buy a decent power supply soon coz i know this one will brake.carnt beleive it actually works
__________________

Rit2003uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.