first day here, and i need help bad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2008, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default first day here, and i need help bad

please excuse my ignorance of computers and my bad spelling. here is my problem . i removed the 80gig hd (maxtor) from my hp desk top which was purchased in 2001. i moved across the country and bought a emachines put the hd in and it said no operating system.
i later bought a hp that was a simular modle and the thing works great. it had no hard drive. just got a great deal on a ibm net vista with out a hd and memory.
all run win xp, but only the hp will reconise the operating system. all the rest will reconise the drive but says there is no operating system.
the thing is i would like to put the hard drive into either the net vista or emachines as it has some software that i can not replace on it, and i dont know how to transfer any of the info or anything like that
. im on SSI because im crazy , so you do not have to tell me in crazy, i already know that, but i need help . i have lots of other questions but 1 thing at a time for now.
and im a 49 yr old male, the handle is because of a tattoo ive had for 20 years. so ill not call you sweety. :-)
i do have xp pro on disc if i have to use that
ive tried booting from the repair discs i have but they are for hp, so they dont work
thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

candycane is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
CECS Major
Chase's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Re: first day here, an d i need help bad

Could be some sort of HP lock they've put on the data on the hard drive (as HP has been known to do such things like that, including the locking of partitions)...I'll do a bit of research and see what I can come up with though...

Chase is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: first day here, an d i need help bad

thank you , if you need any of the specs i think i can find them
candycane is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
jfenwick's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,644
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: first day here, an d i need help bad

Maybe an XP protection thing...i know in the past I've had problems upgrading multiple hardware components as XP thinks i'm trying to pirate it or something....just a shot in the dark.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: first day here, and i need help bad

When XP is installed, it takes a snapshot of the hardware it is installed on (that is a layman's explanation and will suffice for here). It also had the drivers and whatnot for the old computer. When it was placed in a different computer with different components, it wouldn't work. Once it was placed in a computer with similar components, it worked. That's why you usually have to reinstall Windows when you change motherboards.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: first day here, and i need help bad

ive tried with a restore disc, but it was stuck in bios, and kept in a vicious circle. ill try and install my xp pro operating system on it. its licensed for a total of 5 computers, and ive only put it on one so far. will let you know how it go's and thank you !!!!
candycane is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
NightSurge's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: first day here, and i need help bad

Yep, I agree with Trotter. Should be a simple matter of formatting and reinstalling Windows.


If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.