First building experience was terrible (help) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2009, 12:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

I paid 15 dollars for SATA cables.

But I also got a dozen of them. :/

Do it right, save a few bucks, and grab them off NewEgg, unless you got a computer hobby store nearby.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 06:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

I ran sort on SATA cables on my first build also, I would recommend any of these:

Sata Cables

You dont need to spend more than $2
__________________

pupuplader is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 09:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

Ok, problem number 2. It all powers on and all the fans turn on and everything! Except, it wont come on the monitor. Any idea what the problem may be? The monitor cord is plugged up to the graphics card, but the graphics card is running fine it seems like. Like I said, it all turns on and lights up, but doesn't come up on the screen. The Mobo beeps and everything.
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
septic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: soul
Posts: 244
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

is there a bios setting for on-board or gpu?
__________________
asus striker extreme/e6850/4g ddr2 800/8800gts640sli
septic is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

It only beeps when I put my ram in. No beeps with no ram, but beeps with ram
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

Let's take it down a notch.....
Take out your graphics card temporarily and plug it into the onboard graphics port on the mobo.
Turn on your pc again and see what might happen it should post normally and show the bios logo.
When it does that go into the bios screen by pressing f1 or the esc key.

About the ram how much memory sticks did you put in ? let's try only one for right now and see if you the mobo beeps at you.

If it beeps twice and posts the logo on the monitor, then your cool to move on to setup your pc some more.
I really do hope that your new build works there is nothing more sad than your new computer not working with you, had that problem 3 times with that **** like socket 478 Pentium 4 and celeron refusing to post anything...
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

I only put one stick in at a time.
With no ram, no video card = no beeps.
With no ram, video card. =no beeps.
with ram, no video card= beeps.
with ram, video card=beeps.

I have tried everything I can think of, put the ram in every single slot and everything. Not plugged up to the monitor or anything, It just beeps, which I'm sure It would do whether its hooked up to a monitor or not.
So i'm positive its not the graphics card (which doesn't beep) and is the ram, since the mobo only beeps with ram in it. I have 2 sticks of ddr2 ram, and neither stick work (different brands too!) idk what to do im so lost.
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 11:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

Budget PC need input.

Bought everything based on what people here told me. Is it all compatible?
Gumbi is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 11:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

Follow this link on google and see if this helps you.
http://www.google.com/search?q=syste...x=&startPage=1
Can you post what kind of mobo you bought so that I can see it ?
Like I said if your motherboard has onboard graphics, please plug the monitor in there and see what it does.
Don't give up just yet, if we can fix this problem tonight we you could be installing windows 7 the following morning.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 11:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: First building experience was terrible (help)

did you forget to plug in the 4 pin CPU power?
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building PC for first time, confirmation? mikachewie New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-28-2009 05:24 AM
Building System, Stuck on Motherboard etc. rocknje New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-12-2009 08:32 PM
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
Building a Rig (Brand New To This) NasFM System Upgrades 3 11-26-2008 02:41 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.