First build... Will this work? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 10:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Umm you guys posted at the same time so yea.
I guess we think alike, Tobes. I don't know whether to laugh or cry about that...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

My bad about the video card thing, never the less you still need a PCI-express video card. I'd suggest the AIW, Pro or vanilla version of the X1300 then.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

just fix the AGP card and your good to go
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 10:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

OK, so I think I have a better idea of what I need (thanks for all the advice ). I really don't want to spend more than I have to on a graphics card (I was originally just looking for a really nice mobo with video included). I especially don't like the idea of giving up more system memory than I need to, so the 6200TC is out. I'm still a little confused about whether the mobo requires a PCI-E video card or if standard PCI will do. If the first is true, then I'll probably go for:
ASUS EN6500/TD/128M Geforce 6500 128MB GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Low Profile Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121212 ($66)

Otherwise:
SAPPHIRE RADEON 7000 64M PCI Radeon 7000 64MB DDR PCI Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102318 ($32)

I was also considering dropping the 4400+ for the AMD Athlon64 X2 4200[Manchester(BH-E4)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547

which is over $100 cheaper. Especially if I'm gonna have to spend $100+ for a better PSU. Unlike someone suggested, I can't afford to just get the best video card, etc. I'm trying to keep the total to around $1000.

As for the HD, what would be the advantage of SATA? I'd like the HD to be as quiet as possible for my recording environment and I've read that SATA's can be pretty loud.
Thanks again for everyone's help!
Floyd is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 10:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Sata hd's transfer data at faster rates than ide/ata hard drives i dont know about the noise though

Edit: i dont think you need to spend $100 on a new PSU I dont really know much about them but i dont think a good one will cost that much
__________________
My \"tite\" sysytem:Compaq SR1020NX
Celeron 2.8GHz
Cheap generic mobo(MSI)
PNY Geforce fx5500 128 MB pci
512 MB pc2700 ddr ram
compaq case with generic 250 watt psu
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...ron Maiden.jpg
wasd is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

i posted a link for a good value Case PSU combo
& here it is again
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 02:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The_Tobes99
i posted a link for a good value Case PSU combo
& here it is again
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158
Yes, thanks for the link. I had that one in mind when I said how I'll probably have to pay $100+ for a better case/PSU than the cheap one I originally listed.
I still have that question about the video card though. Will a regular PCI video card work with that motherboard? Or does it have to be PCI-E? Thanks.
Floyd is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 03:55 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

well a regualer PCI card would work but they are just garbage, get the $50 6200TC, thats cheap & will play the current games (i know thats not an issue but you'll thank us)
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 04:17 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

at least get a video card with a fan on it. the video cards I've seen without fans run really hot, and it's just not good for the video card.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814139150
Geforce 2 MX400 - $32.50
and it has a fan on the heatsink aswell
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.