First build... Will this work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 02:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default First build... Will this work?

Any opinions on the following combo? This would be my first build. Being a novice, I'm not sure this will even work in terms of compatibility. I'm building this as a digital audio workstation for recording and production. It won't be for gaming so I didn't think I needed a high-end video card. Incidentally, I already have a good sound/recording card. Anyway, thanks for everyone's input.

APEX PC-115 Beige Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811154017 ($24)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Toledo 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103546 ($497)
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro Cooling Fan with Heatsink
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835185125 ($35)
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131568 ($249)
Patriot Signature Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220037 ($78)
Maxtor MaxLine III 7L300R0 300GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA133 Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144237 ($135)
SAPPHIRE 100949L Radeon 7000 32MB DDR AGP 2X/4X Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102437 ($35)

Total: $1043 USD
__________________

Floyd is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

OK.

You're gonna need a new PSU. The one in that case is probably bottom-of-the-barrel, plus it doesn't have enough juice for the rig. I'd look for a better case/PSU combo... check out Antec, and expect to pay $75+.

Maxtor? They are not known for dependability. Go with Seagate (5 year warranty) or Western Digital (3 year warranty).

And...ummm... the graphics card you picked out... For one, it won't work with that mobo... it is an AGP (and an old version at that), and your mobo is PCI-E. And second, it is very old and slow. And thirdly, it is an ATI... If you want bang for your buck, look at the 6800GS. If you aren't big into gaming, a 6600GT may foot the bill.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

you DEFINITELY dont want to skimp on your case PSU like you did
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158
that is the one that you want.
That video card wont work you want for low end stuff (i guarantee ou there will be a game you want so for some cheap versatility)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
You will hear bad wraps about the Maxtor hard drive you chose but personally i think that they are great, no problems at all with mine.
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I guess I'm just ignorant so you'll have to explain why that graphics card won't work with the mobo. I also don't know what ATI means... Like I said, this is not for gaming so I really don't need a great video card. Just one that'll work fine my config. Thanks.
Floyd is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

your mobo has PCI-E a new format of graphics, you chose AGP, it wont fit, ATi is a graphics chip manufacturer like nvidia but ati has a poor track record with their drivers etc
this nvidia card then
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130241
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Your motherboard uses PCI-E x16. That card is AGP... and a very old version of that, by the way.

If you are willing to give up some of your usable memory, you could go with a 6200TC (Turbo-Cache). If not, look at the 6500, 6600, or 6600GT.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 03:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

i posted a 6600GT & a 6200TC i know your a mod & im not insulting you but can you please read my posts first
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Umm you guys posted at the same time so yea.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

What the first poster said, a new PSU and definetly do go for anything lower than the X1800XL or 7800GT, you can obviously afford that kind of video card if you can afford that kind of CPU and such. If you don't get a higher-end video card, you will be bottlenecking your system during graphic intensive games or programs.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 09:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you notice in the first post he says it will NOT be for gaming. he may be able to afford it but it is pointless to spend hundreds of dollars extra for redundant gaming performance. as for the hdd i would reccomend going with SATA rather than IDE/ATA.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.