First build - Monitor won't turn on! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2011, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 61
Unhappy First build - Monitor won't turn on!

It beeps, fans/lights turn on, keyboard lights up, disc tray opens, HDD runs, but no monitor!

Here is a video of this problem in action.

Specs:
MOBO
RAM
HDD
CPU
HD4870

All of the components are brand new except for the GPU. My initial guess was that the PSU was the problem, since it's just a generic 680w unit but I'd like to know for sure before I fork over some more money... Please help
__________________

__________________
Sidewalk is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Shouldn't the monitor be plugged into the graphics card? Looks like your plugged further up away from the card.
__________________

__________________
thunderdome is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Yeah from the video it looks like your plugged into your on-board video not into your video card. So the computer is probably send the video signal out of the card and that's why your getting a blank screen even when it seems like everything is running. Try either plugging the monitor into the video card or try booting up without the video card in and you should find that both of those ways work hopefully.
__________________
Molsen1 is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 10:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

LOL how unbelievably embarrassing... thanks again >.<
__________________
Sidewalk is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

We've all done it before. but it is still funny.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

So basically it's running beautifully now. However, why does my mouse lag? It seems to just get "caught up" sometimes and it's very annoying. I threw 8GB of DDR3 in there and updated the drivers, but nothing. There must be a quick fix to this and I'm just looking over it. Any ideas?


__________________
Sidewalk is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Did you try a different mouse, perhaps?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Did you try a different mouse, perhaps?
Oh, wow. This problem is worse than I suspected. The mouse I'm using now is a wireless optical USB mouse. It worked beautifully in my other computer...

However, I just tried three different mice (trackball), and NONE of them worked after plugging them up to their green mouse port.

I just moved the USB mouse into one of the front ports of the case, and it seems to be working fine for now...
__________________
Sidewalk is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Could be electrical interference. Why the other mice don't work, no idea...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: First build - Monitor won't turn on!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Could be electrical interference. Why the other mice don't work, no idea...
How to troubleshoot this?
__________________

__________________
Sidewalk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor won't turn on? AzN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-15-2009 07:35 PM
Turn off the monitor with a shortcut Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-26-2008 11:14 AM
Monitor turn off xstealthstriker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-07-2007 04:40 AM
monitor wont turn on danielle Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-15-2006 03:37 PM
Monitor will not turn on n o v i c e Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 03-14-2004 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.