first build, looking for suggesitons - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2006, 10:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

ok i have something picked out that i think will work. heres the links to the components

PC components:

case:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=A406-1028

CPU:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...u=CP1-AM2-4200

MoBo:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=M452-2826

RAM:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...=C13-5104%20PT

GPU:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=A177-3094

HD:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=TSD-320AS

Optical drive:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8&sku=L12-1114

PSU:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...4&sku=ULT31843


other components:

monitor:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...H94-1906%20ISS

OS:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7&sku=M17-7514

keyboard/mouse:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...5&sku=L23-6404

Total with S&H came to 1305 after rebates.

i don't think i missed anything but if i did let me know(i don't have speakers or a sound card because i can get buy with the speakers on my monitor for a while). If i have any somponents that wont work together please tell me that too.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The RAM you picked out is DDR, not DDR2.

Try NewEgg's:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103747
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208008
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130048
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227030
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131429
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151118
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832102357
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823126168

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824254001
Widescreen
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824009087
Standard

Total: $1234 w/widescreen (-$55 mail-in rebates)

$1264 w/standard (-$55 mail-in rebates)
Does not include shipping.

At least with NewEgg you will actually ghet your rebates...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

that build is not bad, but its socket 939 (no longer supported by AMD - no new cpu release for it). also, if you go with core 2 duo, you'll get much better performance.. since you're not totally into gaming, i changed my build a bit.. but i guess yours is cheaper since i dind't include OS..


oh and try not to get a wireless mouse, they can get pretty annoying.



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119094

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148140

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824179018

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231087

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813128012

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819115004

total with S&H came to 1241.51 after rebates. (this is providing you don't live in california, new jersey, or tennessee.. otherwise you'd also have to pay tax)

i have everything you have except keyboard/mouse and OS... and better performance in every aspect.


edit: ah trotter beat me to it..

sorry i guess you had socket AM2 there, i must've thought it was 939 b/c the pics of the components are the ones for 939... and the DDR ram also.. anyways.. trotter just showed you how your build will look like from newegg.. mine is a lot different...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

you scared me at first because i knew i had picked out socket am2. Whats the difference between the GPU i picked out and trotters? mine was 512mb, so i would asume hat it's better. Also that motherboard sounds like it gets hot easily, do you think that the fan in my PSU plus the other two that come with my case will do ok? I think thats whatever is on the PSU(which just says unique 2 fan design) plus another 120mm fan and an 80mm fan and i don't know what comes with the proccesor. oh and i think i need to go with a new egg build because i live in NC and tiger charges tax here. So i think trotters build looks nice.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Whats the difference between the GPU i picked out and trotters? mine was 512mb, so i would asume hat it's better.
DDR2 vs DDR3, 128-bit interface vs 256-bit interface

Quote:
do you think that the fan in my PSU plus the other two that come with my case will do ok?
It ought to.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

ok thanks for the help trotter, ive got two freinds who are gonna help me build this, so in the next few days ill be putting the final pieces together. Unfortunately im gonna miss out on that weekend deal on the hard drive. But it looks like this is gonna be a nice PC with good upgradeability options, plus i can't wait to use my media center with my 360, and watch video i have on my computer with my component input on my 27" tv. Oh and i use a wireless mouse with this laptop, and i don't really have any problems. I did have problems with my last wireless mouse, but that was one with a stupid ball in the bottom(i can't remember what they're called)and the logitech one was optical.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:29 AM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

A ball mouse? ::shudders:: That brings back nightmares...

Enjoy your new rig.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 12:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

yeah im still using one on my old dell lol.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 04:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
128-bit interface vs 256-bit interface

....the x1600xt is also 128bit..

but the 512 doesn't make the pro better than the xt, the xt is still a lot better.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.