First build, first power up...need some help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2010, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default First build, first power up...need some help.

I was hoping this would go off without a hitch but don't we all. Anyways here is a list of hardware I slapped together of the last few days...
Antec 900 case
MSI 870A-G54 Mobo
Antec 650w power supply
Deskstar 1TB internal HD
LiteOn internal DVD drive
AMD Phenom Dual Core CPU
Radeon HD 5670 graphics card
Corsair membory cards 2*2 Gb

The powerup showed that the fans run, and cpu and graphics card fans as well. There is nothing on the monitor, and the DVD player only opens when the data cable (39 pins?) isn't hooked up. Any advice on things to check and look for? Also, what exactly should I be seeing on the monitor in the absence of a OS? Thanks, I appreciate any responses. -Tom
__________________

3daywkend is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

Replying to myself here. I wouldn't think I'd get any video with just physical install of the graphics card. Doesn't it need a driver? It's seems like a chicken-or-egg scenario with regards to the OS and drivers. This noob needs some very fundamental info.
__________________

3daywkend is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

There is probably a mis-configuration. I take it you are using IDE, not SATA? If that, you need to set the jumpers correctly.

You do need drivers, only when you go into the OS. Get drivers from Graphics Drivers & Software
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

The mobo says SATA. Should the monitor show something when you power up a new build (without OS)?
Thanks,
-Tom
3daywkend is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

Yeah, it should show details of all your devices. As BIOS version, RAM, HDDs, etc.

Should look something like this:


Or a splash screen like:


If you see nothing onscreen something doesn't match up. Make sure all power cords are in, 24-pin, 4/8 pin, 6-pin video.

Best to do is start out with bare essentials, Motherboard/CPU, PSU, and one stick of RAM.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

Thanks. I tried unplugging the fans and using one stick of ram, but nothing changes. FYI, the MB has two lights on, shouldn't it have 4? O'well, I can always take it in if nothing else.
-Tom
3daywkend is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: First build, first power up...need some help.

Uh,, fans won't do anything. Motherboard has 2 lights? A motherboard usually has one light to notify power is connected.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Power Up Issues .Bullitt. System Upgrades 1 03-20-2010 01:28 AM
New build, 4 pin CPU power to 8 pin? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-19-2008 05:05 AM
power to a build taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2008 12:04 AM
Do I have enough Power on this build? Phase-Six Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-05-2008 11:50 PM
new build won't power up bryanp0286 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-15-2007 07:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.