First attempt at building from scratch. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2007, 09:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toryn View Post
Heh awesome, that means I can get a better mouse too ^^

No worries about negative posts, all feedbacks good feedback (even if its bad, whee oxymoron).

Also the "C" model was £4 cheaper but if theres a chance of things going dodgy I think I might be able to managed the extra £4 .

Hmm, if the PSU could probably do the GTX thingy as well, could I go to a 420W and still be fine? (also, how do you work that sorta thing out, so I can stop asking repetative questions )

Oh and thanks for all your help so far.
Well, if not sure about 'dodgy' happenings with the C. I have no experience, but I doubt it would be more that a little bit of extra fiddling required

Hrm. 450W would prolly do it, I'd verge on the 520W just to be on the safe side- I would've thought that rig would operate at 200-300W if that, but you need a bit more as there is maximum drain on bootup. I just go by what other people use. 520W would certainly give you a little more overhead for problems/ upgrade. What is important is that the power capcity is high on the +12V rail which is true for the 450. I reckon it would prolly be alright. The downer with the 450 is that it doesn't have modular cables, but thats not a huge problem.

hrm, maybe get a few more opinions to be sure, but yeah, it would leave room for more in your budget. I would suggest putting that into a better CPU, rather than a mouse, but thats your choice.
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

Alrighty then, dropped the mouse and am looking at an E6600 instead.

thanks for all your help, really looking forward to this now heh
__________________

Toryn is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

Now I'm going to change your mind again. Did you know that the quad core Q6600 is cheaper than the E6600? The Q6600 is better, so that's strange to see how the pricing works.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 05:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

What? thats just plain wrong.

the E6600 does seem overpriced though. You seem to be able to get an E6750 for less. Why is that now?
Andyf is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 09:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

The Q6600 is about £30 more even when on offer. Though as Andyf pointed out the E6750 is cheaper, is there a real difference between them?

*edit* Actually thinking about it, would it be worth it to wait a couple of weeks and get a Q6600 over an E6600 or 6750? would I notice a little/big/huge difference?
Toryn is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 10:54 AM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

There is a big difference, in terms of multitasking. Not so much gaming, but the difference will get bigger, when more games, start supporting more than two cores. If you feel like you're stretching it, to get the Q6600, just get the E6750.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

Alrighty, thanks.

How do you find out what the temps are that everything is running at?
Toryn is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

The popular programs to monitor temperautres and give other info are Core Temp, Everest, and Speedfan.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

You can never go wrong getting the Q6600 quad core though. In fact, for those users that are still running single core (ie, Athlon 64, Intel Pentium 4), I recommend the Q6600. It's a tremendous jump in performance and for a good price too.

I don't see any reason to get dual core unless you just want something a little bit cheaper, that's it. Gaming wise, Q6600 does just as good as the dual cores. It's multicore so dual core supported games will be fully functional with quad core.

It's just not utilizing the other two cores, that's it. Maybe you can run a AV program while you're playing . But the other two cores are idle or performing some other background processing, which run the efficiency factor even greater.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: First attempt at building from scratch.

So the Q6600 would be faster if your alt tabbing through applications and games? (as in, I often have a game running, while tabbing to msn, with downloads in the background and sometimes an anti-virus kicks in too (very annoying as you probably know)).

I am planning on overclocking so do I need to worry about getting a CPU fan or something like that, or is the stock cooling on the case/with the card/cpu ok for a "little" overclocking?
__________________

Toryn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building gaming PC jonathanwest New Systems | Building and Buying 64 09-04-2007 07:58 PM
building a new comp corye New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-14-2007 07:47 AM
Building a light table death2twinkys Off Topic Discussion 11 06-04-2007 12:19 AM
Noob Needs Advise for Building Gaming Comp therascalking New Systems | Building and Buying 29 05-20-2007 08:53 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.