Finished builded but have a question.... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 08:39 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

In most cases with the motherboards I have seen, when the BIOS asks you to hit F1 to continue it means that the CMOS was either cleared or the battery is in fact dead. So you might want to check the manual for something pretaining to that. Or at least check the CMOS Setup for a reason/option why it would prompt you like that
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

oh, ok
__________________

__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:01 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
In most cases with the motherboards I have seen, when the BIOS asks you to hit F1 to continue it means that the CMOS was either cleared or the battery is in fact dead. So you might want to check the manual for something pretaining to that. Or at least check the CMOS Setup for a reason/option why it would prompt you like that
How do I fix the CMOS from being cleared..
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

If the battery is indeed dead, you would need to replace it.

Probably the easiest way to solve/troubleshoot this problem would be to do just that. If you replace the battery and it still happens, then there is something else wrong. And hey, you now have a backup CMOS Battery.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Lightbulb Re: Finished builded but have a question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
If the battery is indeed dead, you would need to replace it.

Probably the easiest way to solve/troubleshoot this problem would be to do just that. If you replace the battery and it still happens, then there is something else wrong. And hey, you now have a backup CMOS Battery.
But, If the battery is dead, the monitor doesn't come on right, because on my old old old computer, I had to replace the battery and nothing showed up on my monitor. It only said no signal. But everything works, its just that everytime I restart or turn on the computer, I have to press F1.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:27 PM   #26 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

if the battery is dead or low, itll boot but the settings and time will be gone
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:30 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dio1080 View Post
But, If the battery is dead, the monitor doesn't come on right, because on my old old old computer, I had to replace the battery and nothing showed up on my monitor. It only said no signal. But everything works, its just that everytime I restart or turn on the computer, I have to press F1.

A dead CMOS Battery usually does NOT result in a failed POST, it just won't keep any settings youve changed. Or time as mentioned.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Question Re: Finished builded but have a question....

ok well, I'll go to radio shack an by a new battery, btw, how much do these special types of batteries cost?
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

Not much. Id guess a max of maybe MAYBE! 5$...
Maybe..
Could even be alot less. But I don't know as I never needed to replace one.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finished builded but have a question....

a dollar?
also, check the battery with a multimeter to see if its really dead...
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Cigarette Adapter Question (random)? welsh Off Topic Discussion 4 04-18-2007 01:48 PM
Question about Torrent files KingAustin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-15-2007 11:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.