Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2007, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

I want to upgrade my grandmas ram for her but I dont know if she has ddr or ddr2 ram... Whats the easiest way of finding out?
__________________

__________________
Soccer.9.9 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

check the cuts in the ram
also number of pins
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

So i have to go and take apart the pc to find out? is there a way without having to do that?
__________________
Soccer.9.9 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

its ddr since its your grandmas computer...problem solved
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

CPU-Z....or take it out and read the label.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-01-2007, 07:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,388
Default Re: Finding whether i have ddr or ddr2 ram?

Make and model? Easy enough to find out from that and Google.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB AM2, DDR2, Sound, and PCI-E TheBurninator Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 12 06-04-2007 09:49 PM
Help needed finding a IT apprenticeship. Kharn Technology Careers and Education 0 04-29-2007 05:58 AM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 09:21 PM
Help finding the EVGA 8800GTS ycoidi2000 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-17-2007 06:34 PM
Which RAM would you choose..? 2gb... help a newb!! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-14-2007 05:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.