final setup (review please) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 03:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default final setup beta 2.1 UPDATE 3

after long debate among myself i came up with this:

CODEGEN BRIZA-63-CA Black/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 350W P4 ready w/ 12cm fan 20+4Pin (775Ready) Power Supply - Retail $45

AOpen i915Pa-E Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 915P ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail $98

Intel Pentium 4 630 Prescott 800MHz FSB LGA 775 EM64T Processor BX80547PG3000F - Retail $182

OCZ Enhanced Latency 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Memory OCZ400512ELPE - Retail
x2 stix $112both

eVGA 128-P2-N368-TX Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $129(20 mail in rebate)

LG Black IDE DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Write Model GSA-4167B BK - OEM #39

Antec 75012 120mm 2 Ball Case Cooling Fan - Retail $18

Sunbeam PSU-CGMI450-US-BK ATX 450W Black Tri Mirrored X-Plug Modular Power Supply - Retail$45

final price is:713 (old price 656) with shipping
please review and give ur opinion or correct any incompatibility
anyone got better(cheaper) solution than this? or anyone wants my 2.8 cpu?
__________________

raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

Most people here would tell you to get an AMD Athlon 64 cpu and motherboard instead, especially if you're gonna build yourself.
__________________

Shocker is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

im a intel fan
unless u can convince me to switch to amd
as far as i know intel kiks a lil bit of a$$ when it comes to multimedia and thats what im gonna be using it for
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to urnotfast Send a message via Yahoo to urnotfast
Default

To each thier own. For multi media that sounds like a good budget setup. Exactly what will you be doing?
urnotfast is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

ripping cds burning mp3 cds listening to mp3s on winamp
backin up my movies and watching movies and sometimes playing games
and doing some sound editing
the latest game i have is tron2and im not plannin to buy any more
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

i dunno if this is rite, but you should buy a better power source cause that one with the case might not be that good
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Well if your not gaming at all don't get the video card, it's just going to dump heat into your case. You can probably just get a board with intergraded video. I've never heard of Tron2. What are the system requirements?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

You might be better to get 1 gb of ram, same price. Its the stuff i use and works great. I now have 2 gbs and noticed a big difference going from 1. Or get that nice ram u picked and add another stick later.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141423

Also, that case is a little small, so u will have heat issues and limitations with aftermarket coolers if you ever get into that.

Too bad you cant afford a dual core processor.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

but the one i got latency is 2 and one gig latency is 3 how big of a difference is it can someone explain?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Guys, this is his setup. Yes it will work.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.