Final Layout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default Final Layout

OKay, I decided to cover both my bases with the RAM and Video Card..

AMD64 3800+ SLI Dual Core 939 || 2 x 256M MSI 7800GTX VIVO PCI-E || Asus (AMD64-939) A8N-SLI Premium Motherboard || 2 x Geil Ultra-X 2-2-2-5 UTT 2x512mb RAM || 2 x 300GB 8MB SATA Seagate ||
Silver Soprano Case || Pioneer 110d oem || DVD-Rom 16x || Leadtek TV 200XP Expert || Microsoft XP Media Centre || Flexiglow Cyber Snipa PC Gamepad || 23" LCD [Already Have]

Now I suppose it would be to much to hope for that the 400w PSU that comes with the Thermaltake Soprano is suffucient?
__________________

serial.killer is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to ZeroStrife49
Default

It will be, but dont try any overclocking. If you wanna do OC, go for at least 500.
__________________

__________________
K . D . M
ZeroStrife49 is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It won't be sufficent for an SLI system like yours.

And please, change that motherboard out too. I recomend DFI Lanparty SLI-DR

Also for a power supply, I recomend OCZ Powerstream 510 or PCP&C 510 SLI
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

while your at it, you might want to change over to some nice OCZ ram
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That geil ram is good for the money though, OCZ isnt some 100% god ram maker
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Chris I know the A8N-SLI Premium often battles it out with the DFI LANParty NF4 SLI-DR and MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI motherboards for top spot, but I don't want to OC my system, and it is just slightly more expensive then the Asus..
serial.killer is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the ASUS board is "ok" if your not OCing or antyhign like that
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I'm not going to OC it. Theres no need.
serial.killer is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 06:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

There is the need for me My 3200+ right now is running like a Pentium 4 3.95 Ghz.

Anywayz, the A8N Sli Premium and Deluxe, and K8N Neo2 Plat are all fine boards if you're not overclocking. Even if you ARE overclocking, they're good boards as far as major OC'ing settings go. They just won't allow to get as in-depth as the Lanparty. Also a decent board is the Gigabyte one that I can't remember the name of...
Flanker is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 02:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Oh yeah, 3.95Ghz, I can see your trauma..
__________________

serial.killer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.