Filling in an empty PCI bay - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 05:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Default Filling in an empty PCI bay

Recently I made a purchase of a graphics card which was incompatible with my system. I only discovered this when I inserted the card into the system and the system failed to work. As such, I have taken the card out, but left with a huge hole where the card used to be in the back of my system. I'm thinking about putting an extractor fan in there, but want a temporary solution so that I can still use my pc (my pc currently works, but it is very noisy, and I don't feel safe using it).

Two questions:-

1. Would any problems occur using a pc in this state?

2. Is there anything I can put over the hole temporarily so I can still use my PC without it being noisy?

rhyswynne is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 05:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

You can use it safely.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 07:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

yes it is safe. what you want is called a backpane.
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo

if you mean the things that cover empty pci/agp/pci-e etc ports on the back on my old case i took them all off so i dont see why it should be a problem. i know a local pc store here gives them away and if you have to they should be rather cheap to buy.
Charbo is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306

i was to lazy to find a new backpanel so use some tape to seal the back up.
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.