figured I'd throw in my spare 20 gig drive.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2005, 08:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default figured I'd throw in my spare 20 gig drive....

And I'm a little unsure of the power supply ratings and whatnot, just want to make sure I'm in the clear.

AMD 3000+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4
1gb Corsair ram
DVD rom
CD RW drive
Maxtor 200gb
IBM 20gb
3 80mm fans, 1 neon 80mm fan.

Figured 420 is good to go?
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I have a P4 2.66, 1gb, 40g, 120g, cd-r, dvd-rom, 6 80mm fans, 6600GT and a 430 watt PSU. I;ve been good for over a year.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 09:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

There was a power supply calculator somewhere but I can't remember the link. Seems fine I think.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

http://www.techist.com/computer/topic/15985.html


searching ownz 90% of this forum
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Now when the calculator says for example: "Your recommended power supply is 380 watts!"

Is that max load? My PSU is 420 max load.....
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

:smacks head:

I am not going to answer this.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
:smacks head:

I am not going to answer this.
Dearest Shawn,

Kind sir, please refrain from responding in such a manner in my threads in the future. I would greatly appreciate it.

Your dear friend,

Jayce.

Translation: GTFO!
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Ya your power supply is fine. Just make sure your components in the future don't add up to over 420W.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 02:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115
Default

While I'm waiting for a replacement cable for my OCZ Modstream 520W PSU I have a spare 420W EZ Media PSU running everything fine. Like shenlingstyle said though, in the future you may want be careful since computer parts are draining more and more juice these days.
__________________

flyboychuckles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.