A few video card questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default A few video card questions

Hello, as of now I have some cheap integrated video card, and want to upgrade to a better one. It is a ATI Radeon Xpress 200. I mainly use this computer for gaming, so this card will not do. I just have a few questions:

1. If I was to buy a used video crad, would it still work ok? Or should I just go ahead and buy a new one?

2. All I have to do is unistall the card I have now, then put in the new one and upgrade it to work, right?

3. Do I have to stick with ATI Radeon brand? Or can I switch to Nvidia?

Any help would be awesome.

-Thanks
__________________

Sevendust_Fan20 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

1.) I would buy new, but i'm sure used will be fine.

2.) No, since its integrated you can't just remove it. You have to disable it in the BIOS.

3.) No, you can go to any brand you want, as long as its compatable with your mobo. Ex, AGP, PCI-e
__________________

__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

1. a new card you can get a warrenty. old card it probably wouild work but no telling on any warrentys.

2. I jsut hooked up the GPU and it disabled the video card by itself i looked around and i coudln't find out where to do it. so i hooked it up and it did it itself. (i probably did it wrong but who knows..)

3. You can go with any brand you want i ahve the same chipset ()intergrated graphics) and i am useing a nivida card.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

what's your budget for the card? maybe we can help you pick one out.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Well thanks for the replys!

As for my budget, I'm looking for one thats close to 100$ or less. But if a real nice one is just a little more, I'll go for that too.
Sevendust_Fan20 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Hmmmm $100 eh? Well if your feeling rich and fancy or get your allowance early lol you can always get one like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125010

But if your a little tight for cash then there's always this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214

Or if you really don't want to spend that much then here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16814122201R

This is also a pretty good card if you don't mind staying with ATI: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102620
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

check wether you have an AGP slot or a pci-e slot

download everest home edition or something
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Yeah, we need to kow what type of slot you have.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Default

K I downloaded everest, and it says the "Bus Type - PCI" so I guess its PCI.
Sevendust_Fan20 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 02:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145087

? not an expert on PCI cards but that should suit you

~jack
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.