A few questions :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default A few questions :)

Hi, new to the forums . Have a few questions.

I have had the same laptop for about 4 years. A P4 2.4ghz, 1gig ram, geforce 420 go 32mb (yep 32mb! Hehe)

I have never tried to build my own desktop computer but I assume I can. Is it all just snapping things together and screws? No soldering and such I hope? No special tools?

Well I have a low budget, approx $600. A friend will give me his old 19inch crt monitor.

Also I have a Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 6Y120P0 120GB Ultra ATA/133 7200RPM Hard Drive w/8MB Buffer. Its about 2 years old. Don’t know much about HDs but I assume its ok enough for a new system for starters? Its currently being used as an external storage with an enclosure.

I want a nice base system, something I can build off of over time. I can live with an ok-low end vid card, as long as I can put a nice one in later with no problems. Really anything is an improvement off of what I have now. I play WoW and have hopes to play Warhammer when it comes out.

Stupid question but… do you “have” to buy windows? No way to use an old disc? I would rather not waste 100 bucks .
__________________

fnf99 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: A few questions :)

a1: Yes, building a computer is like putting parts together. No soldering or such, but instead like legos.

a2: $600 is considered a mid-range budget. It can make you a fairly good computer.

a3: That hard drive is perfect for a new system if you want to use it.

a4: Once again, $600 is more than a base system

a5: What old disc? Old windows xp? Did you buy it before or did it come in a bundle from a company (dell, hp, etc.)? If you have bought windows once, you can install it on as many computers as you want. It just involves a little lying on the phone.

Tips for other posters: A new rig with e6600, p35ds3r, 7 series card, and 2gb of crucial. Thats pretty much all he needs.

Also, do you have a monitor? speakers? mouse? keyboard?


Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
total: $466.97
thats like $150 left for other parts.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: A few questions :)

I have a monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers... all from same guy, they are all a few years old but all work just fine.

I will need a Case and power supply and all that though. All of which i know little about .

I do have a disc that was bought separately.
fnf99 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: A few questions :)

Disc bought seperately comes in a folder with a label on the back correct? That's all you need.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GOODPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WW Black/Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Total is a little over $600 but you'll be proud and glad you've spent the money. Don't buy yet though, wait for other's feedbacks.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default Re: A few questions :)

A few more random questions

With either of these setups, will I be able to play most games? Is BioShock even a possibility? Hehe

What is the basic difference between AMD and Intel? Am I losing something going AMD?

What I want to do is get a nice starting system, and every little while upgrade a part. So say in 5 months I want to buy a $300 vid card… Is that idea going to work with either of these setups?

Just need a system I can build off of for as long as possible .
fnf99 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: A few questions :)

Yes, that system is good enough for Bioshock to be playable.

The main difference between AMD and Intel, is that AMD has a memory controller integrated into it's CPUs, while Intel doesn't. But Intels usually overclock further. Currently Intel's current processors are better. But each has it's own advantage and disadvantages. You're not losing anything, with going AMD. Besides, your motherboard will support the upcoming AMD Phenom processors, which should be awesome.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 12:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: A few questions :)

Now the Phenom is suppose to be the so called "Intel killer", but I wouldn't go to the extreme here, lol. They have integrated on-die true dual core while Intel will still use the FSB interconnect for their two separate cores.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM
NVIDIA PureVideo HD questions macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-28-2007 10:16 AM
Case and PSU questions carnageX New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-02-2007 12:42 PM
A few questions on my new build [SF]MKM New Systems | Building and Buying 51 06-24-2007 05:43 PM
questions valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-01-2007 01:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.