Faulty PSU, new needed - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2016, 08:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

You quoted me in post #8, how was I supposed to take that?
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 08:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

Like anybody else, it's in context that it's a continuation of what you're saying.

"not going to get much help with an attitude like that [me agreeing saying basically this], and we could say you're equally as lazy yada yada".
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 09:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

Sorry if it sounded rude, didn't mean to - its hard to make a joke sound sarcastic on the internet.

So I found the SeaSonic SSR-650RM 650W which has a gold cirtifaction(?) And is on sale for 80$ on Newegg so that seems like a good deal.

Does that seem like a good PSU? And I know it will have some future proofing, too.
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 01:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

That's a very good psu, although a 500w would probably be good enough.
facial expressions and eye contact can not be expressed on line... no problem
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 01:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
That's a very good psu, although a 500w would probably be good enough.
facial expressions and eye contact can not be expressed on line... no problem
So your saying it would be just fine? I'm thinking of upgrading a part soon and I don't want to worry about PSU for a while (if possible) and this costs the same as the 500W today.
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 01:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

if it's the same price as a 500w, then go for it
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 02:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

Not buying it anyway D: newegg's international shipping obviously doesn't ship to Denmark (sarcastic voice)
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 03:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

What about the EVGA 500 Bronze Power Supply?
Kinda what feels like good from what I've read (I know its stupid; I've become an anti-corsair fanboy)
Does it seem like a good choice now I can't get the other amazing one?
anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 07:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

That EVGA is a good one too. I used it in many of my builds. The EVGA 500-B has better quality parts inside of it so you might want to consider that one for the long term
__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 01:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 64
Default Re: Faulty PSU, new needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
That EVGA is a good one too. I used it in many of my builds. The EVGA 500-B has better quality parts inside of it so you might want to consider that one for the long term
Oh yeah; I just forgot to write B, but then I'll buy this today, and "pray4parts"
__________________

anto2554 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU buzzing sound, is it faulty? deanos63 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-19-2009 02:14 PM
New AMD Build, Faulty PSU? Xenzaka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-29-2008 10:01 PM
faulty psu bozzobrain Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2006 10:38 AM
faulty psu? bozzobrain System Upgrades 6 04-19-2006 08:48 PM
Faulty CD Drive or faulty discs? SupremeRuler99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 04-19-2005 06:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.