Fans from h-e-doublehockeysticks. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2010, 05:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Fans from h-e-doublehockeysticks.

So I just swapped my mobo and cpu for an Acer OEM board and an Athlon 64.
Everything works great, too great. The fans have 2 settings in the bios, Intelligent and OMFG(aka intelligent disabled). We're talking the CPU fan does either 1000 or 5000RPM and my custom front fans that arent 3 pin are rotating so fast they're pulsating the case like it's nuclear. The system/case fan is fine because it's gerry rigged to the case leds and they're working like a capacitor.

Is there a program that controls motherboard fan speeds or can change the voltages so I don't blow fans or have my case take off flying like an F22?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 06:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Fans from h-e-doublehockeysticks.

There are probably fan options in the BIOS, assuming you have all the fans plugged into the motherboard in some way.

You can also use programs like SpeedFan.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-04-2010, 06:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Fans from h-e-doublehockeysticks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
There are probably fan options in the BIOS, assuming you have all the fans plugged into the motherboard in some way.

You can also use programs like SpeedFan.
I couldn't find anything in the bios but I'm going to look again. and speedfan won't do it.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Fans? dirkpitt45 Overclocking and Modding 4 08-08-2009 04:47 PM
No Boot, Loud Fans Quafe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-10-2009 04:56 PM
Desktop Fans Speed HussRam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-04-2007 01:00 PM
Fans sounding...well odd. bmxfreakrider Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-09-2007 05:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.