Fans at full speed...!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2005, 06:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Fans at full speed...!!!


My bro built his new PC yesterday. His main specs are:

- Intel Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz
- ASRock 775Dual-880Pro Motherboard
- VIA PT880 Pro Chipset
- 256MB Corsair DDR333 RAM
- ATI Radeon 9200 AGP 128MB
- Windows XP Pro SP2

We hooked everything up, all is well....except for one thing. The stock heatsink fan keeps spinning at full rate and won't slow down.

We've checked the tempteratures in BIOS and it reads good. CPU is at around 40°C and the case temperature is just under that. Used speedfan in windows and checked the temperatures when running demanding apps and not much change. Heatsink fan is still constant at full rate, and temperatures have hardly moved.

What's the issue here...? We've connected the fan to the correct connector- both the CPU and chasis connectors have fan speed lines. It's just the heatsink fan that won't slow down . . .


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Can you adjust the thresholdes? So when it goes, say aboe 60*c than it runs at full speed? As on my Abit AV8 3rd eye I could do that. I believe I can do the same on my ASUS motherboard, but I don't have any fans (apart from the chipset fan) running off the motherboard.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

well i had that problem with my Coolermaster Hyper48 hs/f, and i had to cut one of the wires goin to it...(4 wires) now it runs at 1200rpm ish but before it was walkin around the room at 3500rpm, very frustrating isnt it...

have u looked in the bios settings?
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

why is it bad that its runnin its *** off?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 03:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

you should be able to set the speed with Speedfan and in bios.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.