Fans at full speed...!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2005, 07:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Fans at full speed...!!!

Hello,

My bro built his new PC yesterday. His main specs are:

- Intel Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz
- ASRock 775Dual-880Pro Motherboard
- VIA PT880 Pro Chipset
- 256MB Corsair DDR333 RAM
- ATI Radeon 9200 AGP 128MB
- Windows XP Pro SP2

We hooked everything up, all is well....except for one thing. The stock heatsink fan keeps spinning at full rate and won't slow down.

We've checked the tempteratures in BIOS and it reads good. CPU is at around 40°C and the case temperature is just under that. Used speedfan in windows and checked the temperatures when running demanding apps and not much change. Heatsink fan is still constant at full rate, and temperatures have hardly moved.

What's the issue here...? We've connected the fan to the correct connector- both the CPU and chasis connectors have fan speed lines. It's just the heatsink fan that won't slow down . . .
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Can you adjust the thresholdes? So when it goes, say aboe 60*c than it runs at full speed? As on my Abit AV8 3rd eye I could do that. I believe I can do the same on my ASUS motherboard, but I don't have any fans (apart from the chipset fan) running off the motherboard.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

well i had that problem with my Coolermaster Hyper48 hs/f, and i had to cut one of the wires goin to it...(4 wires) now it runs at 1200rpm ish but before it was walkin around the room at 3500rpm, very frustrating isnt it...

have u looked in the bios settings?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

why is it bad that its runnin its *** off?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 04:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you should be able to set the speed with Speedfan and in bios.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.