Fans - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Fans

I got a new fan for my dell pc. When i tryed to put it in, the cord that has 3 pins would not fit into the mother bored. I had another cord that was on the fan and that ran into a ps cord. That one fit but was not sure if i need both of them plug in or one. Any help?

keg_a_beer2002 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9

Any help?

keg_a_beer2002 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo

the 3 pin is probly just for temp control so the fan will go slower or faster.
Charbo is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 05:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

ya u never need the 3 pin, I don't like the fans running off mobo anyways.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

The 3 pin will run off the motherboard and the molex connector runs off the PSU. You need either or.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 77

Well it depends, does the 3 pin have one wire or three wires coming out of it? If it just has one wire then you could plug that into the mobo but you don't have to because it is just the wire so you could tell the speed of the fan, but you still need the 4 pin. If it has three wires coming out of it then it is for the power and you could either plug in the mobo or you could use the 4 pin connector, doesn't really matter.
3200+ Venice @ 2.7
Patriot 1GB (2 x 512MB) @ DDR490 3-4-3-8
eVGA Geforce 6800GT @ 450/1.17
Antec TruePower 2.0 TRUECONTROL II-550w
rcr9521 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9

Thanks for the help. Im new to the forums and will be on alot because of the nice help that I get. Thanks again for the help Charbo.
keg_a_beer2002 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to Eagleboy

I've heard problems of Dell motherboards requiring Dell fans before...

I read that off the Dell forums.

Eagleboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.