fan speed control - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2007, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default fan speed control

I was wondering is there any way to control the speed of my fans that are in my case? or is there something i can download or buy? thanks
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

If the fans are hooked up to your motherboard's headers then you can either use the BIOS or you can find a program to control the speeds. If they are hooked straight into Molex connectors you would need a fan controller.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

it connects to my motherboard with a little 3 pin clip is that what you are talking about? if it is what is a good program that I could use?
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

Speedfan website: "...but its main feature is that it can change fan speeds..."

LINK FOR NEWBIES: http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.