F.e.a.r. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default F.e.a.r.

i was just reading a review on gamespot about this game and apparantly.. it needs super fast video cards and processors to be ran. they said to run it at max settings, you need 2 geforce 7800gtx and a dual core processor.. wtf? half life 2 is just as graphically intense and everyone here told me i would have no problem runnin half life 2 at pretty high settings with a amd athlon 3700+ and a geforce 6800gs.. can this review be wrong?
__________________

biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

it's a little bit slanted, but it is more intense gfx wise than hl2, they're probably talking about 1600x1200 on maximum settings with 16xAA+AF and they're partially right 7800gtx sli allows for 16xSLIaa which is the only way to get that particular feature, but i ran the demo on pretty high settings with a 3500+ and a 6800gt (not sure how that compares the GS) you should be set tho.
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok thanks.. its not really the game FEAR i was worried about.. its half life.. i figured if i couldnt run FEAR than i definetly couldnt run half life.. but since thats not the case and i can run both.. theres no problem.. thanks alot
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Yeah, you'll definitly be able to run Half Life 2. My brothers computer has a ATI Radeon All-in-Wonder 9800 Pro, with a AMD Athlon 64 3200+ It looks beautiful on his computer.
Aussie33 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

I can run F.E.A.R. smooth as butter at 1280x960 with my 7800GT and Athlon 64 3200+. No need for 2 7800GTXs in SLI. Now if you want soft-shadows, thats a different story. Soft-shadows are a system-killer in F.E.A.R. I play with them off, and it doesn't bother me.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

have fun with your game

half life 2 can be ran smoothly with a 9800 pro.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
have fun with your game

half life 2 can be ran smoothly with a 9800 pro.
Half Life 2 was originally meant to be a showoff of the power of the 9800 Pro level cards when they were released. You know, HL2 was meant to be released during September of 2003, and if it was released it would have been way ahead of its time, much like Unreal Engine 3 games would be if they were released today.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

thanks.. i feel alot better
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

It might still be that way, even a year from when it's supposed to be released.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BandwidthHogg
Half Life 2 was originally meant to be a showoff of the power of the 9800 Pro level cards when they were released. You know, HL2 was meant to be released during September of 2003, and if it was released it would have been way ahead of its time, much like Unreal Engine 3 games would be if they were released today.
are you saying that i was wrong somewhere or what? just for my information ? thanks anyhow
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.