External HDDS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default External HDDS

what's a good external HDD, about 100GB+ for video transfering. I'd like to have Firewire instead of USB, but i'm not sure what's good. I own two internal WD's which i love so maybe a WD would be good???

~thanks
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Buy an External Enclosure then Buy a Internal HD of your choice, its much cheaper then Buying a prebuilt External HD.
Enclosure
HD

Now thats just an example, but still, I love that HD.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Buy an External Enclosure then Buy a Internal HD of your choice, its much cheaper then Buying a prebuilt External HD.
Enclosure
HD

Now thats just an example, but still, I love that HD.
do enclosures exist that go from SATA (HDD) to USB (MOBO)? because the computer here is only IDE and i would prefer to not have to open the computer every time i wanted to use this external HDD.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

the sata or ide with an enclosure is on the inside... you connect the hard drive to it, then the outside get connected to firewire or USB. the but connect between the HD and sata in transparent once you seat the drive.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
the sata or ide with an enclosure is on the inside... you connect the hard drive to it, then the outside get connected to firewire or USB. the but connect between the HD and sata in transparent once you seat the drive.
o got it.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
the sata or ide with an enclosure is on the inside... you connect the hard drive to it, then the outside get connected to firewire or USB. the but connect between the HD and sata in transparent once you seat the drive.
Erm, Im not a grammer Police Kind of Guy, But Wow. No Offense.

Yes, The Harddrive is connected internally and then, depending on what you buy you would then use either USB, Firewire Or SATA connection, to connect the Motherboard

You can Either buy a SATA or EIDE Harddrive, Just make Sure that the Enclosure you buy has the Same Internal Connection as the Harddrive you buy.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Is there any decrease in performance of the hard drive, when it's in an enclosure via USB or firewire, compared to as if it were connected directly to the mobo?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Well, I guess there would be an Extremely small Decrease, But nothing you would notice.

I take that Back, Probably nothing. At least I don't Notice anything with mine.


Oh btw, its a good idea to an enclosure with a Fan in it, cause HD's get pretty hot in confined Spaces.

And If yoy get a SATA drive with a SATA connection on the enclosure then it would be directly connected to motherboard anyways
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 07:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
And If yoy get a SATA drive with a SATA connection on the enclosure then it would be directly connected to motherboard anyways
How would it directly be connected to the mobo, if it's being connected to the USB ports?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you have a SATA Port on your motherboard, you can get a Enclosure with a SATA Connection on it, thus, you would just use a SATA Cable to go from the Enclosure to the Motherboard.

There are many ways to connect a enclosure, USB, Firewire, SATA and even Ethernet.

And Unless you have a PCI USB Card or a FireWire USB Card, your still directly connecting it the the motherboard. Most motherboards now a days have a Few Onboard USB And Or Firewire Ports.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.