External Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default External Hard Drive

Okay, so I'm looking to buy an external hard drive. I was wondering if this one a good one and is compatible with USB 1.1. Thanks for all your help.

Here's the link.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144385
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

first of all check out this enclosure
http://www.sarotech.com/english/cgi/...md=view&rno=11
i had it for a year anf id give it 9 out of 10
2)western digital harddrives are on the low side id suggest maxtor or hitachi
3) USB 1.1 is hella slow
USB 1.1 is limited to a maximum of 12Mbp/s, USB 2.0 can reach transfer rate of 480 Mbps
4)try to find a external enclosure that had internal power supply (not the adapter with wire)
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Well my computer has USB 1.1, so uh yea, not like I can change that, nor am I in the mood to spend more money. I'm not going to get a Hitachi or Maxtor hard drive because they are crap. I don't care about the adapter with the wire because I have a plug-in for it so I could care less.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

u have a laptop or desktop?
also what makes u say maxtor and hitachi are crap?
because with usb 1 this hd is gonna be useless i tried that for a day and went out ang got a pci card wit usb2
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I have a laptop as my sig says. Many people have had problems with Maxtor. I don't like Hitachi. A friend of mine had an external hard drive from Maxtor die on him and it was less than a year old. You say it's going to be useless but it will be just fine for what I'm doing. Can anyone else tell me if this purchase was a bad idea?
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to CompGeek06
Default

This is what I got from Newegg. So far its worked great, I havn't done a full backup but I will soon when i redo my computer. But, It has worked great for music, apps, etc. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822154623
CompGeek06 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Maybe you should think about getting a usb 2.0 pci card because usb 1.1 is 40x slower/crappier than usb 2.0

If it takes usb 2.0, 1 minute it will take usb 1.1, 40 minutes, That's a huge difference
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

I'm gonna get a PCI card for a LAPTOP huh? Yea, you're no help. I ordered it, case closed. I should think before I ask people to help me.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

does ur laptop have pcmcia card slot?
if u do then u can use the PCMCIA card usb 2 adapter
this is what i had on my laptop and it worked perfect without drivers or anythign but its expensive
http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=2554610
but newegg offers lots of them
http://www.newegg.com/ProductSort/Su...ubCategory=421

also i dont know howm much stuff u got hooked up to ur laptop already thru usb but once u gonna have HD thru usb1.1 all those acessories gonna share same bandwidth and if u go mouse it will freeze up while u acessing HD
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Does your Notebook have a wired ethernet port, or Firewire port? You could use either of these to hook up an external drive also. An etherner drive can also be hooked up to your wireless router. These (or the USB 1.1) would be a good solution if you are looking to back up your existing data.

If you are looking for additional space, you can also replace the 20 Gig drive you have now with a larger drive. I haven't had personal experience with notebook hard drives, but I have heard good things about the Samsung Spinpoint line...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152502
The only downside to the 5400 RPM drive over what you have now is a slightly reduced battery life.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.