ethernet ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 341
Default ethernet ports

Hey Everyone, I have a question. Why does some motherboards have 2 ethernet ports?
__________________

D-Rocks is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 12:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: ethernet ports

Some motherboards have two Ethernet ports so they can share their internet connection if there is only a modem and no router. There are also other uses for it, mostly related to networking.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: ethernet ports

You can run them together to get twice the speed:

2x1Gb = 2Gb connection
turtile is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: ethernet ports

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
There are also other uses for it, mostly related to networking.
NIC Teaming (in NVIDIA's world) ... but not for speed, it's mostly for fault tolerance and network load balancing . If you really wanted to gain the 2x speed benefits, then just one computer with "NIC teaming" active going into a 100mb or even 1gb switch would be pointless....

Let's face it... common gaming or other personal use motherboards are coming with 2 NICs for an idea of "practical use". companies aren't going to expect people to be running a 24 ported, layer 3 switch in their home thats capable of trunking 2 ports, therefore allowing this capable and theoretical "2gb" connection speed. They are thinking of more practical uses:

1) Sharing your Interwebs (ICS)
2) NIC Teaming

...............

Dump the "2x the speed"....it's just silly. Even if you had two computers side by side, had 2 NICs in each and had CAT6 going to each... data WOULD NOT travel at 2gb/s...it wouldn't even come close.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: ethernet ports

Quote:
Originally Posted by turtile View Post
You can run them together to get twice the speed:

2x1Gb = 2Gb connection
You're funny, but I like it.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: ethernet ports

Sarcasm at its finest haha
Drewser is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: ethernet ports

you could use it with smoothwall to provide a firewall for your house. (smoothwall is a linux distribution that provides many networking and security packages. it is geared for firewalls, and content filtering but it will also do dhcp and many other things.)
__________________

forest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ethernet Controller Missing Driver kkttt87 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 01-13-2008 01:31 AM
TCP/IP vs ethernet carey_w Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-02-2007 12:23 AM
ethernet controller butterflywrenn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 07-31-2007 10:34 AM
Why is my Ethernet ports not working on my new PC? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-21-2007 11:47 AM
USB Ports don't work jtenorio3 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 05-22-2007 04:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.