Is this enough to play Wow and C&C ect... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default Is this enough to play Wow and C&C ect...

Price seems good. With this cheap system and cheap 128 meg video card could I play games like Wow on lowish settings? Is it a good deal?

http://cgi.ebay.ca/259-AMD-ATHLON-XP...QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ATI-Powered-RADEO...QQcmdZViewItem

I dont have to pay any shipping either as I can pick it up.
__________________

Conroe is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The specs on the computer says it has a PCI-E x16 slot, not an AGP.

Not too shabby, actually. I'd add another 512 megs of RAM, though.

Oh, and the comp doesn't need the LAN card, as it has onboard ethernet.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

there's also 60 dollar shipping..


do you live in canada or the US?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Yes i just realized that about the pciE and no AGP slot. I think il go for a slightly better card...

the X300...any good for 66$ canadian?

http://cgi.ebay.ca/BRAND-NEW-ATI-RAD...QQcmdZViewItem

I think I can also get this same thing for 299.99 with 1 gig and 269.99 with 512. I think 512 is probably all I need anyway as I want to get a whole new conroe system eventually when IO get more cash to throw around and they are more affordable.

Anyway so with this video card and the system for about 340$ canadian plus tax I would have

AMD Athlon XP 3100
512 MG DDR ram
128 mg video card
"high end" lol case with 450 PSU
80 gig harddrive.

Seems like the cheapest half decent system I could find. Should this tide me over well until Vista comes out...Conroes and DDR2 ram drops and I get a real system. I dont plan on doing any high end stuff but wouldnt mind being able to run movies off my comp..play Wow type games, surf the net use Office XP ect.
Conroe is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
there's also 60 dollar shipping..


do you live in canada or the US?
I live within 1 hour of the place and the seller said I can pick it up and not pay shipping.
Conroe is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

lol that x300 is not worth $66
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
lol that x300 is not worth $66
How much do you think its worth? Any recommendations on a similar cheapie that would get the job done. As long as this works decent for 6 months to a year when I upgrade its all good. At that point il just give it to a family member or sell it for 100$ or something lol.
Conroe is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

get a an x1600xt if you want ATI if not you can get a 7600GS from Nvidia, and since when did Athlon XP's have PCI-e on the boards?
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by COD2_fanatic
get a an x1600xt if you want ATI if not you can get a 7600GS from Nvidia, and since when did Athlon XP's have PCI-e on the boards?
Ouch...nice looking card but way out of my price range. Remember the comp im buying for only 269 so im not paying 184 for a video card. Looks like a good one though.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=SAPPHIRE

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...OMPUTER%20INC.

How about the 7300GS...would it get the job done for Wow and CC along with basic computing multitasking?
Conroe is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

hey man... if you want to play games, you have to splurge a bit more... this rig will set you up with some good gaming.


http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...7&promoid=1048

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=17670

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=17076

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...7&promoid=1048

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...8&promoid=1048

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...6&promoid=1048

total: $528
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.