Emachines w3650 Upgrading. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2009, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to ghostrange
Default Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

I am upgrading my old emachines w3650 with a new power supply 585w, Video card EVGA 9500 gt, and processor to a , Now I just wonder if this processor would work out with the retail motherboard.

Repost of the CPU link http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116265
__________________

ghostrange is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

The link to the cpu is broken...
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostrange View Post
I am upgrading my old emachines w3650 with a new power supply 585w, Video card EVGA 9500 gt, and processor to a , Now I just wonder if this processor would work out with the retail motherboard.

Repost of the CPU link Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E3200 Wolfdale 2.4GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
your motherboard will not support that CPU. you will need to find a CPU that is not made on the 45nm process.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to ghostrange
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

any suggestions on CPU's then im clueless now
ghostrange is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

SuperBiiz.com - Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor E2220 2.4GHz 800MHz 1MB LGA775 CPU, OEM

that should do it
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to ghostrange
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

Thanks I am ordering it now, I will come back with my results +rep
ghostrange is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to ghostrange
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

any thats on newegg or some other site, I dont have enough for all the shipping fee's
ghostrange is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

sorry, but that's about as cheap as they get. just save up the extra money
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

Newegg.com - Intel Celeron E1500 2.2GHz 512KB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
$50 w/free shipping
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to ghostrange
Default Re: Emachines w3650 Upgrading.

Thanks trotter havent ordered everything yet.
__________________

ghostrange is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading questions ex_nihilo System Upgrades 1 09-17-2009 09:08 PM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
upgrading emachines 3609 mdelgado System Upgrades 10 12-16-2008 05:08 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.