Emachines W2888 Wont Boot! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2007, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Exclamation Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

My cousin gave me his Emachines W2888 Desktop to fix because he though the power supply burnt out after a power interruption. When I opened the case and plugged the power supply in, the motherboard green light comes on and thats it and it will stay on until the power cord is unplugged . I tried a old power supply from my aunts old gateway computer and the fan will spin for a split second and stop and the green light will stay on until you unplug the power supply. Do you think I need a new power supply? Or what do you think it is? I ordered a StarTech ATXPOWER250 ATX 250W Power Supply from Newegg. The power supply can be found here:
Newegg.com - Once You Know, You Newegg

Please help me with to get this machine to boot up.

THANKS!
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

Odds are the PSU took out the mobo. That's what happened to my mother-in-law's comp (also an eMachine).

The good news is that the CPU, RAM, and disks (hard and opticals) should be fine. Snag you a microATX board with that PSU and you've got a new computer.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

How hard is it for me to take out the old Mobo and put a new one in? And How much would it cost for that motherboard?

Thanks!
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

Disconnect all the wires, unscrew about 9 screws, and out it comes.

Mobos cost from very little to a chunk of change. Post what CPU it has and we'll see what we can find that is decent.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 08:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

CPU: Intel® Celeron® Processor
(2.80GHz, 400MHz FSB, )
Operating System: Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Home
Monitor: eView™ 17f Monitor
(16" Viewable, 0.27mm dot pitch)
Chipset: Intel® 845GV chipset
Memory: 512MB DDR
Hard Drive: 80GB HDD
Optical Drive: CD-RW/DVD Combo Drive
Media Reader: 8-in-1 digital media manager (Secure Digital™ (SD), Smart Media, Compact Flash, Micro Drive, Memory Stick®, Memory Stick PRO, Multimedia Card, USB 2.0)
Video: Intel® Extreme Graphics integrated
Sound: AC '97 audio
Network: 10/100Mbps built-in Ethernet
Modem: 56K ITU v.92-ready Fax/Modem
Peripherals: Standard keyboard, 2-button wheel mouse, amplified stereo speakers
Dimensions: 7.25"W x 14.125"H x 16"D
Weight: 22.5 lbs (PC only, no packaging)
---
Current Motherboard: Intel Seabreeze (D845GVSR)


THANKS!
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 09:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

Here's a couple. Socket 478 boards are getting scarce nowadays.

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR P4M80-M4 Socket 478 VIA P4M800 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

MSI PM8M-V P4M800 P4 Skt478 M-ATX Motherboard Retail at ZipZoomfly

Both boards will require you to reinstall Windows and your other programs, since you are changing the motherboard. Both boards have a AGP slot, so you could use a AGP video card.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

does he have to reinstall or just call up MS for the unlock codes?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 10:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

Reinstall, The installation on the hard drive will not boot with th e new motherboard... the configuration is too different.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

I just took my comp. down to the local computer shop and they told me I need a new mobo. I just took the mobo out right now and I am looking at it and I was looking at the one from newegg but that board if different than the one I have. The One I have had 4 USB ports total and the other mobo has 2.. Would that be fine if I just left the space open with the no USB? Also, does my board have to be a Socket 478 or can I buy other boards?
__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 07:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Emachines W2888 Wont Boot!

??? Both boards have 4 rear USB, as well as 2 headers to connect the front USB ports. Are you talking about the I/O shield?

Your CPU is a 478, so you have to use a 478 board.

The boards re different, but should fit fine. Both boards I listed have AGP slots, so they will have fewer PCI slots on them. Both boards have 2 RAM slots, and support up to 2 gig of RAM total.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot xp and vista mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-25-2007 06:49 PM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM
boot cd Pabulum Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-09-2007 09:51 AM
Unmountable Boot Volume - BSoD Raj1991 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-03-2007 11:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.