Emachines Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2006, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Emachines Upgrade

I am wanting to upgrade my motherboard and processor for my emachines t2341. But I'm not sure what motherboards and cpu's would fit in there. I'm new to the whole building your pc thing.
__________________

theelement29 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You have to get a Micro-ATX board. I'd go with an Athlon64 3200, MSI RX480 Neo2-F and 1GB of corsair valu select.

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130524
RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Instead of upgrading your emachine.. just build yourself a new pc.. I built a custom pc, case, mobo, ram, processor, and a power supply.. all for a little under $300.
anons is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

can you give me an example of how you did your computer, or any instructions of how to? What is a mobo?
theelement29 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

mobo is the motherboard
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-V
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.1
Patriot Viper Xtreme Series, Division Viper 2 Edition DDR3 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC3-12800
HyperX Genesis 4GB DDR3-1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit (2 x 2GB) w/ Intel XMP
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670 OC
Corsair HX650
Corsair 120GB Force Series 3 Solid State Drive SATA III Boot Drive
2TB Seagate + 500 GB Seagate
Coolmaster Storm Sniper Black Edition
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you want to spend $300 you're probably better off getting a dell.

if you have upto $500, then you can get a nice setup. $400 if you want integrated video.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

thought i'd let you know how a build would look like..

antec case w/ 350watt psu $57

seagate 80gb sata2 HD $51

biostar mobo w/ integrated graphics AND a pci-express slot $69

1gb 2X512 dual channel patriot ram $70.50

3000+ venice s939 $117

total: $364.49 thats with integrated video.


if you have more money, you can invest in a video card.. something like this


sapphire x800gto $89 (you can get 6800xt for same price, but you'd have to use a $30 rebate)

total: $453.49 thats with a video card. (note: you might have to upgrade the powersupply if you want a better video card... won't increase price by too much...)

so you can decide whats best for you.. if you want to play video games, then the vid card option is what you want. if you don't play video games, then the integrated one is for you.

you can take a step back in technology and go s754 + sempron - might bring price down by $50 or so.. (not worth it..)

you can get really cheap dell w/ monitor for general use for like the same price. (don't even utter the word "gaming" when thinking this option...)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,305
Default

You have a T2341, right? My current rig (soon to be replaced, and my wife gets this one) is/was a W2040.

It still has the original case, PSU, CPU, and mobo. I added a DVD drive, then replaced the CD burner with a DVD burner. I replaced the original 128MB with a stick of 256, then added another, then recently swapped one of them for a gig. I replaced the 40gig hard drive with a 160gig one. I added an older graphics card (no need for a top end). Of course, I did all of this over three-four years.

if you don't have the cash to plop down on building a new rig, ad what you can.

You have a 2400+. You can look into a faster CPU (they go up to 3200+, and there are a couple of them for sale in the Buy/Sell/Trade forum).

You have 128MB of RAM (unless you have added some)... RAM is a quick and relatively cheap upgrade; 512 would make a world of difference, a gig is better.

A graphics card whips integrated graphics any day, and you have an AGP slot. Pick up an older graphics card for $40-$75 easy.

Hard drives have come way down. You can pick up a 160 gig one for less then $100.

There is always options.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.