eMachines - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default eMachines

ok i was wondering if emachines are good computers

i know that they are like intigrated everything but i wanted to know how emachines work form people who have owned them or know about them
so anyone info would realy help
__________________

xkbean is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

emachines seems to be the most tolerable prebuilt machines. They tend to offer upgradability more than other companies. You're highly advised to build you own to save cash and get better products.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well if you get the emachine with the integrated ati xpress 200, those arent so bad, they have pci-e, so thats a plus, and the onboard graphics card is 256 mb, mines not an emachine but its close to it... compaq, and it runs hl2 just fine, don't settle for a lower amd also, lowest i went was the 3500+, but you won't be disappointed.... well, not til later at least... i wasnt disappointed til i got to play with dual 7800 gtx 512 -_-
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Usually the psu sucks, and they lock the bios. Thats pretty much the only reason emachines are bad, unless they rip out the PCIE-16 slots. That would suck .

Nosboost your sig is too big, 468*120 is the limit dont want sigsanta to ban you from using a sig do you
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Waste of money.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

My comp is an eMachine. Of course, I've changed it a bit since I bought it...

eMachines aren't bad at all. Like Pzero said, the BIOS is locked (as on every other pre-built machine). And the PSUs are lower powered (like on every other pre-built). So, unless you are into overclocking, or try to put in a massive graphicsc ard (you'd have to replace the PSU for the card), they are good.

At least eMachines are built with off-the-shelf parts, meaning you can replace them with any other brand.

With some of the set-ups eMachine has out there, it would be hard to build the same thing for the same money.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I agree with turtile's well-thought-out idea and plan he set forward...

[/scarcasm]

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 04:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Default

The only real disadvantage is the locked bios. everything else you can pretty much change to your liking. but why buy that when you could buy something from monarch
fork is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can *cough* unlock the bios on some of these e-machinnes.

E-Machinnes is the second best pre-built company, next to some smaller one I cannot remeber the name of :/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 05:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

as far as a prebuilt its good right
i dont like the idea of building my own and i most likley wont end up trying to do anything to it so with all that in mind would u recomend me buying one
__________________

xkbean is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.