Electrified TOWER! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2011, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Marshall MN
Posts: 33
Default Re: Electrified TOWER!

OMG!!!!!!!!!!! I fixed it. the reason is almost to embarrassing to say, but I need to list so people can learn from my mistakes.....
Here was the problem from the outlet I ran a extension cord to my surge protector and the extension cord did not have a ground(man do I feel dumb), but here is the twist I also had a second computer on that same extension cord as my pc and of course my tower was electrified but the other tower was not. That I will never know but one problem down one left to go. Thanx again everyone.
__________________

viviffx is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 02:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Electrified TOWER!

There is a reason for having ground, if you have two devices that are connected in any fashion, one is grounded, yet the other isn't, electrical "noise" can be introduced into one of the devices, especially if YOU bridge the gap.

I can't remember the number of times my 5.1 receiver shocked the CRAP out of my but because it isn't grounded and is connected to the computer, touching both at the same time, is very painful.

You would think everything would have a ground wire for this reason, so all devices are in the same state of charge. -.-
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 06:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Marshall MN
Posts: 33
Default Re: Electrified TOWER!

Makes since happy it is grounded and dont have to worry about that situation anymore!
__________________

viviffx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why to choose a full tower case over a mid tower one? SuxoR New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-14-2008 10:28 PM
Mid tower or Full Tower ?? illnastyimpreza New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-11-2008 09:48 PM
What case would you prefer? A tower or Full-tower? WQ87 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-27-2004 09:13 PM
CASE: Tower or Full-tower? WQ87 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-26-2004 10:08 PM
I electrified my case!!!! maddogsdhs Overclocking and Modding 6 01-13-2004 03:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.