Elder of scrolls oblivion. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 03:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default Elder of scrolls oblivion.

Hi guys. I was wondering will an ATI x1300 play oblivion without lag on the minimum graphics settings?

2ndly How do you find out the specs about your power supply.

3rdly Is the Gecube brand of graphics cards a good brand or not?
__________________

__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

1st: Yes it will without a doubt...just wondering, what processor do you have?
2nd: the easiest way it to open your case, find your model number and look it up online.
3rd: I've never heard of Gecube personally, but maybe someone else here has.
__________________

jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Oh my processer is an AMD athlon 64 3200+
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 08:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

I have seen Gecube graphics cards around and i cant imgine them being to bad as they are using radeon chipsets anyway.. (thats what you refering to right?) and your CPU most likely will but im not sure i dont play MO
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

it should run it, but badly , I have played it on a 6600 GT 128 which is slightly faster and had to play it on min settnigs to get good playable FPS.

Personally I would not bother with Oblivion unless you havea decent setup, I love the game on my machine because the graphics and feel of the game are superb, on the machine with the 6600 GT card it lost alot of its atmosphere.
__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

i hate morrownind oblivion along with all these stupid threads that accompany the game... :@
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

as games go you are probably a minority, generally people love the game, myself included.
__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 03:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Im happy to play the game on lowest graphics settings, it doesnt bother me.

So the ATI x1300 will play it without lag on the lowest graphics settings. Is that what im being told?
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 04:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

I reckon it will play it on the lowest settings but with low FPS...

I may be wrong, im just basing it on what I have seen on other systems.

Can you not take it back if it does not work?

I know a number of people who have done this because the minimum spec on the packaging is way off.
__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 07:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

Hmm i think its a bit late to take it back. What about a nvidia 6600GT? Would that play it, ive been told it will but the nvidia is only 128mb where as the ATI x1300 is 256mb. Wich one is better and why.

And how do i work out how many FPS a game is running at?
__________________

__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.