DVI/VGA ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default DVI/VGA ports

My graphics card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102404) has both VGA and DVI ports.

I currently have a CRT going to the VGA, can I simply buy an LCD monitor with DVI to hook up the the DVI port and run both monitors at the same time?

Do I need to install certain software to get both working together to I can watch DVD video on one while working on the other? Or have both working on a MS app at the same time?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

You're gonna need some sort of software to do that sort of thing. Whether or not said software was included with that card, I don't know.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

It's pretty common to hook up 2 monitors at the same time. Your drivers that you currently have, as well as the built-in support from Windows will allow you to do that.

I have done the same myself. When you hook up the extra monitor, you will have to open display properties by right-clicking your desktop. Then, you can select your extra monitor and choose the option to "extend your desktop on this monitor."

Then, you can take your media player, drag it to whatever monitor you want, and play your movie there, while working on the other monitor.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Excellent info Elbatrop1, thanks again for your time!
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Dvi | Power switch »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.