dvi to component question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2009, 04:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default dvi to component question

Can I use this DVI adapter

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE DVI to HDTV Adapter Model 100907 - Video Card Accessories

with this motherboard

Newegg.com - Foxconn A7GM-S AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

and the component cables to hook up 2 my tv because it has component but not hdmi?(not an hdtv)

using for a duel screen
__________________

lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: dvi to component question

Your tv in not hd. Does it have 3 plug component in or just a single yellow video in?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: dvi to component question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Your tv in not hd. Does it have 3 plug component in or just a single yellow video in?
nope not hdtv but yea it does have component(red,green & blue)...has composite & s-video too
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: dvi to component question

The adapter(DVI-I male) won't fit into the socket on the motherboard port(DVI-D female).
brinks is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: dvi to component question

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
The adapter(DVI-I male) won't fit into the socket on the motherboard port(DVI-D female).
are their any on newegg that will fit?
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: dvi to component question

No, I can't find an one piece adapter that will do what you want.

Maybe you can try 2 adapters to get it to fit but I don't know if it will work or not...you're gonna have to wait for someone with more experience on this to advise you.
brinks is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 04:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: dvi to component question

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
No, I can't find an one piece adapter that will do what you want.

Maybe you can try 2 adapters to get it to fit but I don't know if it will work or not...you're gonna have to wait for someone with more experience on this to advise you.
Thanks for the help, If a piece can't be found I'll just go ahead with the more expensive solution and buy a video card


Have one more question.....I have basic cable on my home tv so there so really no reason to buy a tuner card is there because im going to just get the same channels right?
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 12:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: dvi to component question

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinks View Post
The adapter(DVI-I male) won't fit into the socket on the motherboard port(DVI-D female).
Male plugs fit into female sockets. Hopefully you can think of an easy way to remember that eh?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 31
Default Re: dvi to component question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Male plugs fit into female sockets. Hopefully you can think of an easy way to remember that eh?
so are u saying i can use it
lonz358 is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: dvi to component question

It will not work (I edited incase you skim this page) I would personally by one with the cable preattachted to reduce cost of buying a cable for it.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Question on HD TV bmitchell73 General Gaming 13 09-27-2007 02:59 AM
Need to buy a DVI cable Shafra System Upgrades 3 09-20-2007 10:12 PM
graphics card question m6qrp System Upgrades 3 09-15-2007 12:17 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.